Strongest Deliveryman Episode 1

My Thoughts — Strongest Deliveryman— Episode 1

Nutshell Summary:


The series begins with a man hitting a deliveryman and fleeing the scene. Choi Kang Soo (Go Kyung Pyo) witnesses the crime, calls the police, and chases the man and catches him. Kang Soo is a deliveryman who only stays in a Seoul neighborhood 2 months at a time before he moves to another. His newest eatery throws him a curveball, he must be interviewed and approved by the current deliverywoman Lee Dan Ah (Chae Soo Bin). Of course, they had previously met in the streets and bickered. Kang Soo manages to pass the interview as Dan Ah likes his moxy. The chef of the eatery Jang Dong Soo (Jo Hee Bong) has a crush on the prickly Soon Ae (Lee Min Young). The other delivery guys in the neighborhood aren’t welcoming. The episode ends with Kang Soo confronting their leader. It gets physical as Kang So demands he be left alone by the others.


Kang Soo meets a runaway rich girl Lee Ji Yoon (Go Won Hee) and offers her a meal and a his lodgings for a night (while he sleeps in the eatery below).  She disappears in the morning leaving a thank you note.


Spoiled rich Oh Jin Gyu (Kim Sun Ho) is condescending to Kang Soo when he delivers food so they get off on the wrong foot.


Rich, Jung Hye Ran (Kim Hye Ri) likes to raze and revamp charming neighborhood eateries into corporate chains. Undoubtedly she will try and do this in the neighborhood Kang Soo is working.

Kang Soo’s mother deserted him and his father (now deceased) years ago. He despises her but doesn’t know who she is.

My Thoughts

Solid first episode. Writer Lee Jung Woo gave a taste of the primary characters. I’m already guessing about the relationships, indicating my interest.

I’m watching this show for Kyung Pyo. I LOVE that Kyung Pyo has a lead role. It’s been a long time coming. He bridged comedy into drama in Chicago Typewriter much to my delight. I’d previously thought of him as purely comedic relief. I look forward to seeing him as the primary male character.

Choi Kang Soo (Go Kyung Pyo) has a TERRIBLE hairstyle. Egad, I hate it. With that elephant in the room called out, I like Kang Soo. He has ethics (chasing down the hit and run driver), moxy (standing up for himself to Dan Ah and not accepting Jin Gyu demeaning manner) and a caring nature (he offered runaway Ji Yoon his bed and cooked her a meal). The banter between Kang Soo and Dan Ah was solid.

Deliverywoman Lee Dan Ah (Chae Soo Bin) is no nonsense and feisty. She’s worshiped by her adoring male clientele. I loved the way she hurt the guy that took liberties during a delivery. He won’t do that again! I like Dan Ah.

Ranking the episodes (on a scale from 1-10) had me rank this episode as very good. My episode ranking chart is below.

The first song of the OST “Must Have” by Jang Jae In has been released:

Asian drama fan

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Recaps, Strongest Deliveryman
6 comments on “Strongest Deliveryman Episode 1
  1. studiomarie says:

    I am also watching this show for the male lead actor. However I am enjoying the entire cast. I recognize the female lead from Cheer up. She is playing a completely different role. I think she is doing a good job as a strong heroine. The second male lead was in Chief Kim. I loved him in Chief Kim. What a difference a change of wardrobe makes. The cast is quite interesting. I even like the second female lead. She has good comic timing. Looking forward to how the story unfolds. I agree with you about Kyung Po’s hairstyle. He is still cute though. As you stated Chicago Typewriter showed he could be good in a dramatic role. Don’t forget Jealousy Incarnate. He was funny but he was also dramatic in that one too. Glad to see him as the lead. Let’s hope he gets the girl this time. I want to know why he stays only two months in a place. I have a guess but I will wait to see if I am right.

    • Glad you are watching this show!

      I didn’t recognize Chae Soo Bin from Cheer Up where she played the mean girl, thanks for bringing that up.

      I agree with you about Kyung Po’s hairstyle. He is still cute though. As you stated Chicago Typewriter showed he could be good in a dramatic role. Don’t forget Jealousy Incarnate. He was funny but he was also dramatic in that one too. Glad to see him as the lead. Let’s hope he gets the girl this time.
      Glad I’m not alone in not loving his hair. Maybe the stylist will switch it up during the series. I have not seen Jealousy Incarnate, so Chicago Typewriter was his first dramatic turn that I saw. I want him to get the girl too!!👫

  2. Kay says:

    I’m so excited to see Go Kyung Pyo as the lead in this! It looks like it will be a fun show all around, and I’m really looking forward to it 🙂

  3. Jane Tilly says:

    Go Kyung Pyo is the reason I’m watching “Strongest Delivery Man”. I fell for Go Kyung Pyo’s boyish charm when I saw him in “Tomorrow Cantabile”. I was swept up with his manliness in “Jealousy Incarnate”. I was blown away with his serious acting chops in “Chicago Typewriter”. Here’s hoping for another successful drama❗

    • I enjoyed him in “Tomorrow Cantabile” and loved him in “Chicago Typewriter”. My favorite comedy role was his pairing with Kim Seul Gi in “Flower Boy Next Door”. I’m ready for this drama to be good too!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Posts
August 2017
M T W T F S S
« Jul    
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
Copyright
© kjtamusings.wordpress.com, 2014-2017, All Rights Reserved. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without expressed and written permission from this site’s author is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to kjtamusings.wordpress.com with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
