My Sassy Girl – Episode 16 (Final)

My Thoughts — My Sassy Girl — Episode 16 (Final)

At the end of my recaps I have a “My Thoughts” section where I summarize my opinions. For shows that I’m not writing detailed watch-n-blog recaps, I’m writing a “thought-cap.” I just finished the final episode of My Sassy Girl.

Nutshell Summary:


The ghost archer comes to evil Minister Jung’s house and fights him. But it’s not a fair fight as Minister’s Jung’s men surround and capture the ghost archer. The mask is removed and Choon Poong is revealed. Minister Jung realizes he’s the younger brother of Prince Chuseong. He’s about to kill Choon Poong when another ghost archer appears and puts an arrow through Minister Jung’s arm. Furious Minister Jung yells at the ghost archer. But surprise, surprise, there isn’t one ghost archer but a half dozen! They come down from the roof and fight. The ghost archers defeat Minister Jung’s guards. Kyun Woo reveals himself and tells Minister Jung he’s just lost. Officer Kang and the King arrive. Minister Jung freely admits to killing and manipulating his way to make a better country. He lunges for the King with his sword and Kyun Woo slices his neck with his sword. Minister Jung grabs his neck, sags to his knees and dies.

The Princess learns what Kyun Woo did volunteering for the dangerous assignment to help make amends for his actions when he was 10 years old. The Princess is touched but doesn’t waver in her position that Kyun Woo is out of her life.


The Princess gets the surprise of her life when her mother, the deposed Queen, visits her during his volunteering stint at the community health care center. The women embrace. The deposed Queen reveals that Choon Poong extracted her after the attack on her processional. The Princess asks her mother to return to the palace. The former Queen declines, that part of her life is in the past. The Princess sputters that her mother has another child, Prince Wonja, that deserves to know his real mother (recall the former Queen killed in the previous episode purported to be his mother). The former Queen declines, she doesn’t want to confuse him. The Princess can’t believe what she’s hearing but her mother won’t budge. When her mother tells her that Kyun Woo lobbied for her to visit, the Princess’s heart thaws a bit more.

Kyun Woo decides that he’s done all he can and must leave the city forever so the King and his beloved Princess are not reminded of his actions every time they see him. Officer Kang tells the Princess that Kyun Woo is leaving town. She considers what to do.

Kyun Woo bids farewell to his friends, family, and remembers moments with the Princess as he walks around town. Meanwhile the Princess has decided that she’s going to go get her man. It’s a full circle moment when the Princess finds Kyun Woo on the bridge were they first met. She asks him to stay and not leave town. Kyun Woo can’t deny her request.

Kyun Woo decides to ask the Princess to marry him. He buys a ring and frets about the right way to propose. With a sincere heart, he asks the Princess to marry him. Surprising him, the Princess declines and says she wants to study medicine in China for a year. Kyun Woo considers it and realizes that the Princess has every right to pursue her own path. He slips the ring on her finger and asks her to think only of him. Thrilled to have his support, she throws her arms around him and agrees.


One year later the Princess returns. Kyun Woo is surprised as she intended. They bicker and finally admit that now they will get married and start their life together.

My Thoughts

New writer Yoon Hyo Je delivered final episode that wrapped things up quickly. Minister Jung was dead by the 7 minute mark. The deposed Queen visited by the 14 minute mark. The remainder of the hour episode was our couple getting back together, the Princess leaving for China, then returning. Writer Yoon could have expanded both major plot points and reduced the second act without diminishing the appeal of the episode. At the end of this series I had a smile on my face for the couple that overcame the odds and was set to walk life’s path together.

Kyun Woo (Joo Won) volunteered to take the risk to appear as the second ghost archer and it paid off with the defeat of evil Minister Jung. He ended evil Minister Jung’s life with a defensive flick of his sword to protect the King. After that it was all about leaving town, then staying at the Princess’s request, then waiting for her return. I liked that Kyun Woo supported the Princess pursuing her own interests with a 1 year sojourn in China. I liked that Kyun Woo slipped his ring on the Princess’s finger effectively declaring she was taken. I liked that Kyun Woo did so much behind the scenes to try and rectify for his past mistake. I liked Kyun Woo but I didn’t love him. That doesn’t budge Joo Won from my must watch list. However I’ll have to wait 2 years to see him grace another kdrama. Per the article “On May 16, the actor quietly entered the army recruit training center located in Gangwon province to begin his military service. After receiving basic army training, Joo Won is scheduled to serve in active duty for 21 months”. I betting this gifted actor will learn more about himself during his military stint. I wish him well and look forward to his return in 2019.

Princess Hye Myung (Oh Yeon Seo) learned that Kyun Woo had risked himself to bring down evil Minister Jung. The action that tipped the scales was Kyun Woo nudging her mother to see her. I was as surprised as the Princess when her mother declined to reveal herself to darling Prince Wonja. He just lost the only mother he knew. Wouldn’t finding out he had a biological mother be a positive for all? I don’t fault the Queen for not returning to palace, though all her enemies were gone. One last time I ask the question, why doesn’t the Princess remember Kyun Woo helping her the day her mother died? I was neutral about Princess in the initial episodes as she seemed more caricature than person. But when the relationship with Kyun Woo turned personal and she shared her desire to learn the truth why her mother was deposed and if she was still alive, they gelled as a couple. Yeon Seo looked lovely throughout the series.

Other Thoughts:
* Dae Young having to be servant for the rest of her life was poetic justice for the spoiled witch.
* Kyun Woo’s sister and mother suddenly realized the Princess was a step up for Kyun Woo.
* Choon Poong had saved Kyun Woo and the Princess many times. It was fitting that Kyun Woo saved him. I could have used more of him in this final episode. Maybe a knowing wink when he learned that the Princess and Kyun Woo had pledged their love.
* I felt terrible that darling Prince Wonja will never know his mother and was left believing the evil but dead Queen was his mother. One day he’ll learn of her treachery. If I were him, I’d want to know the former deposed Queen was really my mother.

What was granted on my wish list for the final episode of My Sassy Girl?
* Evil Minister Jung is exposed as the master mind and finally pays for his crimes. Granted. Kyun Woo killed him. Frankly after watching Minister Jung have it easy besting Team Good for the entire series, I wanted a bit more suffering on his part before he died. Plus I found he easy confession out of character. He wouldn’t admit to anything and always wiggled his way out owning his actions.
* Kyun Woo is the new ghost archer and devises a plan to expose Minister Jung as the prime plotter against the King and his family. Granted. The multiple ghost archers was a neat twist.
* The Princess is reunited with her mother. Granted. But her mother wasn’t interested in daily contact or in her son Prince Wonja.
* Prince Wonja learns his real mother is the deposed Queen and is reunited. Not Granted. I dislike Writer Yoon’s choice on this plot point.
* Choon Poong doesn’t die. He is my favorite supporting character (Prince Wonja is a close second). Granted. He lived though we only saw him for a brief moment after the opening scene was done.
* The Princess and Kyun Wol find a way to reconcile. Granted. I liked that Kyun Woo supported the Princess’s wish to study medicine. I liked that they agreed to commit before she left. At the end of the series, I smiled to see them happy and reunited.

Ranking the episodes (on a scale from 1-10) had me rank this episode as good. My episode ranking chart is below.

Asian drama fan

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in My Sassy Girl
3 comments on “My Sassy Girl – Episode 16 (Final)
  1. Jane Tilly says:

    I KNEW the “Ghost 👻🎭 Mask” that shot 🏹 an arrow into Evil Minister Jung, as he was about to execute 🗡 Choon Poong, was Kyun Woo‼. It was thrilling to have all the roofs and walls populated with “Ghost 👻🎭 Mask” characters and see them decend on Evil Minister Jung and his minions‼ I was so relieved to have “Ghost 👻🎭 Mask” AKA Choon Poong, AKA Prince 👑 Chuseong’s younger brother, AKA Prince 👑 Eun Seong survived‼. I 💗 Prince Eun Seong calling the evil Minister a rat 🐭.

    I could hardly believe the size of Jung’s inflated 🎈 ego, which caused him to confess and say that even the King can’t stop him. When Kyun Woo revealed his face that ego deflated 🎈💢 rather speedily. It was sweet 🍭 when the King 👑 showed up and confronted the corrupt Minister. Justice ⚖👩 Jane got her full measure of equity when Kyun Woo sliced a fatal blow to Jung as he lunged to stab 🗡 the King 👑. I actually felt pity for Da Yeon as she lost her father and I have always despised that traitors’ families, especially women and children, have to pay for the sins of the traitor by being executed 🗡 or sent off as slaves, especially when treason was fabricated, which was NOT 🚫 the case for Minister Jung.

    Since Prince 👑 Eun Seong whisked the pregnant deposed Queen 👑 to safety; how is it newborn Prince Won Ja was raised in the palace…how did he get there❓ I respect the deposed 👑 Queen’s choice to not return to the palace. Why would you want to return if it caused Prince 👑 Won Ja further distress as he already lost the only woman that he knew as “mother”. While it would be heart 💗🔧 wrenching to continue to be separated from adorable Prince 👑 Won Ja, the deposed Queen was willing to sacrifice her desires to protect her son from further trauma. It doesn’t help that pesky fact of her husband, the King 👑, and mother-in-law, the Dowager 👑 Queen, did not trust in her fidelity back in the day.

    I’m a bit annoyed that Princess 👸 Hye Myung kept holding a grudge against Kyun Woo for something he did as a child and then gave his all, including risking his life, to make things right. He even convinced the deposed 👑 Queen to reunite with her daughter.

    I was glad to see officer Kang play Cupid 💘 for our OTP. I laughed when Park Jin Joo, one of my favorite cameo and supporting actresses, told officer Kang that she had been robbed … Officer Kang had stole her heart 💗. I wish 🍀 Lee Jung Shin would’ve played a bigger part, I’d like to see him in a meatier 🍖 role to see a wider range of his acting chops, I want to see his potential.

    I thought Kyun Woo’s marriage 💒 proposal was PERFECT‼. It boggles my mind Princess 👸 Hye Myung would reject him. Choon Poong got a good laugh out of the rejection story … I’m pleased these two have become friends‼

    There haven’t been times that the modern spin in this story has annoyed me, this was one if those times. Why couldn’t they get married and go yo Qin together❓. Otherwise a certain Imperial 👑 Prince who fell for her would be likely to pursue her again. I don’t think I would risk the opportunity of losing such a good man like Kyun Woo.

    In the end I was satisfied when our OTP reunited; after all, I 💗 a happy ending‼. I’m going to miss Joo Won as he has already embarked on his military service.

    I appreciate you KJT for helping me more fully enjoy Kdrama together‼. THANK YOU‼

    • It was thrilling to have all the roofs and walls populated with “Ghost 👻🎭 Mask” characters and see them decend on Evil Minister Jung and his minions‼
      That moment was a pleasant surprise.

      Jung’s inflated 🎈 ego, which caused him to confess and say that even the King can’t stop him.
      I take exception with his verbose confession after being coy and guarded for the other 15 episodes. Don’t get me wrong, I’m glad he did, but it didn’t ring true for him.

      Justice ⚖👩 Jane got her full measure of equity when Kyun Woo sliced a fatal blow to Jung as he lunged to stab 🗡 the King
      I was happy with the quick ending, no escape from prison and corned on the cliff for Minister Jung.

      how is it newborn Prince Won Ja was raised in the palace…how did he get there❓
      Good question. That will forever be a mystery. My unanswered question is well known – why didn’t the Princess didn’t remember Kyun Woo on the fateful night her mother left the palace.

      I’m a bit annoyed that Princess 👸 Hye Myung kept holding a grudge against Kyun Woo for something he did as a child and then gave his all, including risking his life, to make things right
      I thought of the leads in Suspicious Partners. I didn’t like it in that series either.

      There haven’t been times that the modern spin in this story has annoyed me, this was one if those times. Why couldn’t they get married and go yo Qin together❓
      Good point. The Princess wanting her own career was the only point Writer Yoon saw fit to make.

      I’m going to miss Joo Won as he has already embarked on his military service.
      Me too😢!

      Appreciate the kind words. I love your feedback and the interactions it brings. Thank you!

  2. Jane Tilly says:

    I concur Evil Minister Jung’s “verbose confession” was not consistent with his secretive personality, except he truly believed his own words up to the point he saw soldiers and the King witness his confession. I was surprised Jung’s death was so quick, concise and 💯% justified as Jung was lunging to kill the King.

    KJT we both had good unanswered questions. I appreciate a writer who dots their i’s and crosses their t’s.

    I find it interesting that both “My Sassy Girl” and “Suspicious Partner” paralleled the male protagonist making an error with serious consequences in their youth. The female protagonist held a grudge against the male protagonist for a decision they made as a child and tried to make things right when their memories returned. These guys deserved a break as there was nary a malicious bone in their bodies, the mistakes were made as a child and they did everything in their power to make amends.

    “Appreciate the kind words. I love your feedback and the interactions it brings.” -KJT. DITTO❗. We are Kdrama kindred spirits 👻❗

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Posts
July 2017
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
Copyright
© kjtamusings.wordpress.com, 2014-2017, All Rights Reserved. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without expressed and written permission from this site’s author is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to kjtamusings.wordpress.com with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
