Lookout – Episode 15

My Thoughts — Lookout — Episode 15 (split episodes 29-30)

At the end of my recaps I have a “My Thoughts” section where I summarize my opinions. For certain series, instead of a recap, which is a blow-by-blow of the episode, I’m writing a thought-cap of the episode.  I just finished the next episode of Lookout.
Each of the Lookout 16 episodes are split into two. Per Han Cinema…MBC’s latest Monday/Tuesday drama “Lookout” is a 32 episode run…It is a part of a test split that both MBC and SBS are trying.

Nutshell recap:

Evil Father’s story: Powerful and evil prosecutor Yoon Seung is in police custody.

Evil Son’s story: Yoon Shi Wan has trapped Team Lead Kim’s daughter on the rooftop with a bomb. Master manipulator he is, he pulls the strings of every adult he wants to toy with – Soo Ji, Team Lead Kim, and Prosecutor Jang Do Han. He sends Team Lead Kim pics of her daughter with the warning that if she doesn’t bring Soo Ji to a particular location in a particular time, her daughter will die. When forced to choose between friendship and blood, Team Lead Kim chooses to save her daughter. Do Han figures out that Shi Wan has Team Lead Kim’s daughter and sends Kyun Soo to search the school. Maddeningly, Kyung Soo finds where Team Lead Kim’s daughter is hidden but she doesn’t call out loud enough (ridiculous). Using Team Lead Kim as his assassin, Yoon Shi orders her to shoot Soo Ji on the count of five. Soo Ji understands and tells her friend to do it. But Team Lead Kim can’t and implores Shi Wan to take her life instead. Soo Ji talks “sense” into Team Lead Kim knowing she was the Shi Wan’s target all along. As Do Han bursts into the scene, Team Lead Kim’s gun fires and Soo Ji has blood staining her shirt from the side. Shi Wan loves it.

My Thoughts

New writer Kim Soo Eun an episode that was tense and difficult to watch. My bloodlust boiled watching smug Shi Wan manipulate Team Lead Kim effectively. My bloodlust boiled watching smug Shi Wan diss Do Han saying he was a part of the game and a man desperate to right the wrong he did to Soo Ji. My bloodlust boiled watching smug Shi Wan laugh knowing he would blow up Team Lead Kim’s daughter no matter what happened. Evil Shi Wan deserves one thing…death.

Prosecutor Jang Do Han (Kim Young Kwang) met his match in psycho Shi Wan. This kid plays by his own rules. For a millisecond Do Han looked like he might emotionally shame Shi Wan but no, Shi Wan was merely playing with him. What bothered me was the logical gap as Do Han desperately searched for Team Lead Kim and Soo Ji. They had the timed texts that Shi Wan sent. One of those defined the location they were headed. Maybe they only had the picture texts not the text only with the location, but that’s a stretch.

Detective Jo Soo Ji (Lee Si Young) accepted that Team Lead Kim had to save her daughter. Here’s my problem with her acquiescence. She knows Shi Wan is lying and will not give back Team Lead Kim’s daughter. So urging Team Lead Kim to kill her would only leave Team Lead Kim bereft that she shot Soo Ji and failed her daughter.

Hacker Kong Kyung Soo (Key) found where Team Lead Kim’s daughter was being held. I call foul that suddenly Team Lead Kim’s daughter was unable to rouse herself and rush to the door to answer Kyung Soo’s pounding.

“I see everything courtesy of CCTV” Seo Bo Mi (Kim Seul Gi) knew Shi Wan was up to no good.  Personally I’m glad that Shi Wan doesn’t know about her or Kyung Soo.

Prosecutor Kim Eun Joong (Kim Tae Hoon) asked his father if he wanted him to find Detective Nam’s cell phone. His father didn’t answer so Prosecutor Kim had to draw his own conclusion, that his father expected and wanted him to find the cell phone that would put Prosecutor Yoon in jail. It must blow knowing your father will be interrogated for aiding Prosecutor Yoon.

Team Lead Lee Soon Ae (Kim Sun Young) was willing to do anything and sacrifice Soo Ji to save her daughter.She’s stopped thinking and was consumed with fear for her daughter. I get that. Her acquiescence doesn’t bother me because she’s a desperate mother trying to save her daughter.

One episode to go. What’s my wishlist for the final episode?

* My loathing for Shi Wan knows no bounds. He must die.
* Team Good – Soo Ji, Do Han, Kyung Soo, Bo Mi, Team Lead Kim (and her daughter), Prosecutor Kim – lives.

* Ranking the episodes (on a scale from 1-10) had me rank this episode as very good.  My episode ranking chart is below.

Asian drama fan

Tagged with: ,
Posted in Lookout
9 comments on “Lookout – Episode 15
  1. Jane Tilly says:

    Kyung Soo was so cute hamming 🐷 it up for Bo Mi on CCTV. While I appreciate the Justice ⚖ Team members are willing to take responsibility 🚓 for their illegal actions, I’ve been worried about the Justice ⚖ Team turning themselves in too early as Yoon is under investigation 🕵 and NOT under indictment 🚔, Shi Wan’s evil deeds have not been revealed and Do Han’s dad has not been exonerated. I was relieved when Kyung Soo went to check out the 🏫 school CCTV 📹 before turning himself in. I agree it is “foul” that Se Won couldn’t respond 🚫🗣 loud enough to Kyung Soo. Even if she didn’t have a voice left, she could pound on something.

    Yoon’s spawn is pure 😈 evil. The evil 😈 spawn said “I’m going to take the same path as Yoon Na” WTH⁉⁉ Looks like Shi 😈 Wan was seeking someone to push him off a building 🏫 – any volunteers? Evil 😈 Spawn even place a block for Se Won’s cell 📱 signal and trashed her belongings 🎒. I hope Se Won has Shi Wan’s “suicide” note 📃 with her as further evidence. ✳NG ALERT✳ When Kyung Soo was pounding on the rooftop door 🚪 where Se Won as collapsed, I didn’t see the padlock 🔒 and hasp the evil 😈 spawn used last episode to secure the door 🚪.

    The evil 😈 spawn has left virtual footprints 👣 all over the school’s computer 💻 the search history on bomb 💣 making and the timed text 👉📱 messages he sent to Soon Ae. I’m convinced that Shi Wan intends to kill 💣 Se Won whether or not Soon Ae complies with killing 🔫 Soo Ji or not – Soon Ae may have the promise that Se Won will live, but will the evil 😈 spawn keep the promise⁉ Besides Soon Ae would end up in prison for murder. Mom’s will do almost anything you protect their kids‼

    I ❤ Do Han calling Shi Wan a coward. Was the evil 😈 spawn quivering his lip just an act 🎭⁉. I concur there was a major logic gap with Do Han using the team to find Soo Ji and Soon Ae; he HAD the text 👉📱 message with their location! Color 🖍 me 🎊surprised🎉 Do Han didn’t immediately go there after leaving the evil 😈 spawn and his mother at the police police 👮 station. Holy crap 💩! Did Soon Ae really shoot 🔫 Soo Ji? ✳RUBBING MY PALMS TOGETHER✳ I hope 🙏 it is not fatal or real! Soo Ji was mighty calm about telling Soon Ae to shoot 🔫 her. Is it possible these colleagues made a plan to thwart the evil 😈 spawn while traveling in the car 🚙❓

    I concur with KJT’s wish list: Shi Wan needs to be completely out of the picture 🖼. Incarcerated 🚔 without the possibility of parole, which I’m not sure is possible for a juvenile. Maybe death 💀 would be a good option for the unredeemable 😈 spawn. I also want Team ⚖ Justice to not just survive, but thrive with minimal punishment for their illegal activities, they all had mitigating circumstances… right⁉. I have had the desire to like Do Han and I like a lot of what he has done, but I cannot square ⬜ with his decision to pass the opportunity to save little Yoon Na in order to get his revenge. I wish 🍀 he would have sought justice ⚖ rather than revenge; revenge blinds 🕶 your ability to reason.

    • Terrific comments JT (or should I say JJ?)

      I’m convinced that Shi Wan intends to kill 💣 Se Won whether or not Soon Ae complies with killing 🔫 Soo Ji or not
      Concur. Shi Wan has no mercy in his soul.

      I ❤ Do Han calling Shi Wan a coward. Was the evil 😈 spawn quivering his lip just an act 🎭⁉.
      Yes it was an act. But I didn’t care because Do Han nailed Shi Wan’s motivations. The smiling murderer is a “thing” we viewers must endure. They relish their triumph we grit our teeth.😬

      Incarcerated 🚔 without the possibility of parole, which I’m not sure is possible for a juvenile. Maybe death 💀 would be a good option for the unredeemable 😈 spawn.
      Death is justice for Shi Wan.

      …I cannot square ⬜ with his decision to pass the opportunity to save little Yoon Na in order to get his revenge. I wish 🍀 he would have sought justice ⚖ rather than revenge; revenge blinds 🕶 your ability to reason
      Perfectly put.

      • Jane Tilly says:

        “Death is justice for Shi Wan.” While I concur death 💀 would be the best solution to keep others safe from this sociopathic 😈 spawn, I don’t want anyone on Team ⚖ Justice to be responsible for his death 💀.

      • Beez says:

        “JJ”? Jane Justice?

    • Beez says:

      First, I can’t stop grinning from ear to ear at kjt and Jane Tilly’s visceral emotional reaction to WormFace. I’ve seen you guys upset with a villain before but never bordering on this [my] level of intense hatred to the point of DIE! DIE! DIE! sooner target than later! lol

      Second, good catch on the continuity with the missing lock, JT.

      • First, I can’t stop grinning from ear to ear at kjt and Jane Tilly’s visceral emotional reaction to WormFace. I’ve seen you guys upset with a villain before but never bordering on this [my] level of intense hatred to the point of DIE! DIE! DIE! sooner target than later! lol
        I attribute my intense reaction to a couple of things:
        1. Shi Wan’s enjoyment of hurting others. The number of times he has grinned at Soo Ji confirming what she knows but can’t prove it drove me nuts. He killed her daughter and literally laughed in Soo Ji’s face every chance he got.
        2. Shi Wan’s targeting of weak and vulnerable victims. My soft spot is children, the elderly, and animals. Shi Wan killing Soo Ji’s child with intent and pleasure is unforgivable. Shi Wan targeting Team Lead Kim’s daughter because she was associated with Soo Ji specifically to get to Soo Ji AND fully intending to kill her irregardless of what the players in his game did was unforgivable.

        All that being said I concur that the young actor Park Solomon did a bang up job and matched well and sometimes out acted with every adult actor he had a scene with. If he could apply the same intensity to a romantic lead role, I’d want to watch.

      • Jane Tilly says:

        I concur with KJT’s motivations for visceral emotional reaction towards the evil 😈 spawn, Shi Wan. I think Park Solomon has a great acting career ahead of him‼

  2. Beez says:

    My thoughts after reading thought cap but before reading the comments:

    Did they ever say why WormFace wanted to destroy Soo ji in the first place?

    “…They had the timed texts that Shi Wan sent. One of those defined the location they were headed. Maybe they only had the picture texts not the text only with the location, but that’s a stretch.” kjt

    I THINK Do han was on his way there [location from the texts] but was desperately asking if the team knew where Det. Team Leader & Soo ji were along the way so he could stop them en route before they reached the destination. I think Do han thought Shi wan had hired someone or a bomb or anything could’ve been waiting for So ji at their final destination.

    “She knows Shi Wan is lying and will not give back Team Lead Kim’s daughter.” kjt

    I think Soo ji thinks there’s a chance Wormface will spare Sewon because it’s all about the power for him and his controlling “the game”.

    Yeah. I lost all concern for Sewon as a “character” like “If you won’t put in the effort, chicky” and only wanted her saved to spare her mom and so WormFace wouldn’t win. But then thought maybe she was running out of air or maybe Wormface had provided gas.

    That scene on the police steps between Do jan and WormFace has me hoping that the actor playing Shi wan (Park Solomon) won’t be penalized by being typecast as a villain. He’s an amazing actor and cute so I can see him being a great lead when he matures IF he doesn’t get pigeon holed.

  3. Jane Tilly says:

    JJ, you got it Beez‼

    Shi Wan was an unredeemable evil 😈 spawn. If don’t generally advocate death 💀, but I don’t want him killed byany of the members of Team ⚖ Justice.

    I concur that Park Solomon did an AMAZING job of playing Shi Wan, the character we ❤ to hate 🚫❤. I hope he doesn’t get typecast; I think he has a great acting future ahead of him. 잘 했어 박 솔로몬‼

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Posts
July 2017
M T W T F S S
« Jun    
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
Copyright
© kjtamusings.wordpress.com, 2014-2017, All Rights Reserved. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without expressed and written permission from this site’s author is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to kjtamusings.wordpress.com with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
