Lookout – Episode 11

My Thoughts — Lookout — Episode 11 (split episodes 21-22)

At the end of my recaps I have a “My Thoughts” section where I summarize my opinions. For certain series, instead of a recap, which is a blow-by-blow of the episode, I’m writing a thought-cap of the episode.  I just finished the next episode of Lookout.
Each of the Lookout 16 episodes are split into two. Per Han Cinema…MBC’s latest Monday/Tuesday drama “Lookout” is a 32 episode run…It is a part of a new test split that both MBC and SBS are trying.

Nutshell recap:
Evil and powerful prosecutor Yoon Seung Ro sics his lapdog enforcer Detective Nam on Do Han’s father who ends up in the hospital. It’s a trap to force Do Han to reveal what Prosecutor Yoon already knows. Do Han switched identities with the Father and he has an axe to grind with Prosecutor Yoon. Soo Ji stops Do Han from going to the hospital sending the Father instead. But Detective Nam swipes a hair to perform a DNA test to prove Do Han’s father is in the hospital. Things look grim until Prosecutor Kim turns himself in as the informant. Do Han takes the information to Prosecutor Yoon who seems to believe this takes suspicion off Do Han. Pressure gets put on Detective Nam and he makes a move to get rid of evidence. Prosecutor Yoon calls him to cease and desist. Detective Nam counters that it was Do Han that told him about the danger. Prosecutor Yoon and Do Han lock eyes.

My Thoughts

Prosecutor Jang Do Han (Kim Young Kwang) is compromised, yet he persists in trying to be a trusted adviser to Prosecutor Yoon. I have a hard time believing that Prosecutor Yoon has a shred of confidence in Do Han. He KNOWS who Do Han is. Canceling the DNA test to confirm Do Han was a liar was out of character. I see that Do Han has no choice but to continue the charade but it seems ludicrous at this point. I was not happy when Do Han admitted to Father that his gut knew that evil son Shi Wan would harm Soo Ji’s daughter as he watched him lead her into the building and her eventual death. The collateral damage Do Han has allowed in his pursuit of vengeance of Prosecutor Yoon is unacceptable.

Detective Jo Soo Ji (Lee Si Young) worked with Do Han. She supported Do Han and kept him from seeing his father in the hospital. What will she do when she learns Do Han knew Shi Wan intended to harm her daughter?

Hacker Kong Kyung Soo (Key) doesn’t want to believe his mother is dead. Detective Nam  is getting rid of evidence, is that evidence his mother’s body?

“I see everything courtesy of CCTV” Seo Bo Mi (Kim Seul Gi) told Kyung Soo his mother was dead.  She and Kyung Soo are on the outs because of her statement. That Soo Ji concurred with Bo Mi doesn’t matter. She said it first.

Prosecutor Kim Eun Joong (Kim Tae Hoon) confesses to being the leak. He decides if you can’t beat them, join them, and offers Do Han his help. In essence he becomes the sacrificial lamb that Do Han used to get back in Prosecutor Yoon’s good graces. This character finally realizes the system is corrupt and team evil is winning every battle.

Team Lead Lee Soon Ae (Kim Sun Young) was surprised when Prosecutor Kim confessed to being the leak. Evil son Yoon Shi Wan tightened his grip on her daughter.  It is clear that Shi Wan enjoys psychological torture and has the daughter completely trusting and believing his lies. His innocent face hides a hideous person.

* New writer Kim Soo Eun has painted Do Han into a corner. He is compromised. Prosecutor Yoon trusting him is ridiculous.

* Ranking the episodes (on a scale from 1-10) had me rank this episode as good.  My episode ranking chart is below.

 

Asian drama fan

Tagged with: ,
Posted in Lookout
7 comments on “Lookout – Episode 11
  1. Jane Tilly says:

    I agree Do Han’s charade 🎭 has become ridiculous. It seems to me that Do Han is only fooling himself.

    Although Do Han knew 🐛👦 (AKA Shi Wan) was capable of injuring 🤕 others and knew Yoon Na was in danger, which is why he followed the duo, but didn’t realize Yoon Na was in mortal 💀 peril until it was too late. I cannot believe Do Han knowingly allowed 🐛👦 to kill Yoon Na. Nonetheless “The collateral damage Do Han has allowed in his pursuit of vengeance of Prosecutor Yoon is unacceptable”. I cannot imagine how the writer ✍ will attempt square ⬜ this element of the storyline.

    I admire Prosecutor Kim for being steadfast in the winds 🌬💨 of corruption, while so many prosecutors and police 👮 bend their will to corruption. I’m just not sure his strategy will work, although I hope 🙏 it does. Good MUST PREVAIL over evil‼

    • It seems to me that Do Han is only fooling himself.
      Well said JT.

      I cannot imagine how the writer ✍ will attempt square ⬜ this element of the storyline.
      Soo Ji won’t be happy to hear Do Han’s confession.

      Good MUST PREVAIL over evil‼
      Writer Kim be successful IF both Yoon men, Father and Son, are both caught and convicted. Would Shi Wan considered an adult in the eyes of the law?

      • Beez says:

        I’m not sure but I think I’ve heard on other dramas that young people must be 19 (?) to be tried as an adult.

  2. Beez says:

    Since I’ve been unsure where to post my comments without the full recap, I kept notes as I was watching this time. I’ll go back & read the Thought-cap after this:

    Didn’t Soo ji see Mentor-Cop’s kid with WormFace? Why not warn her that they know for sure now without a shadow of a doubt and your daughter is hanging out with a psychopath?

    Did Do han drop Soo ji off at the hideout? What if the writer gave Det. Nam half a brain to follow or to put a bug on his car?

    OMO. Did Do han say “WE” were watching WormFace? – Does that mean Bomi and Hacker knew what WormFace was capable of too?

    Why was Hacker embarrassed by his mom at that moment?
    He told mom to go out. She looked neat. Teenagers. *tsk tsk*

    Grey Lady says she’s glad to see a prosecutor so full of passion – that is until people like you turn him into “get it done by any means necessary”.

    EPISODE 22

    See THIS is why I’ve been so angry with Do han. He was willing to blow the whole plan when HIS father is hurt but poor little Yoo na…

    I was so glad when WormFace shunned Mentor-Cop’s daughter, so she could see he didn’t really like her. But then that smart eff-er showed up with the juice as if he didn’t see her waving at him with the juice earlier.

    If I was a villain, I’d be a super villain. No way I’d trust Do han even though Prosecutor Kim turned himself in for the stuff Do han did. That would be too big of a coinkydink that the man’s [step]-son that I TORTURED and framed, has gotten close to me. I’d still do the DNA test and make him disappear [remember I’m a Super Villain. That means I’m not stupid.] If I was a regular villain, I’d transfer him to another office out in the boonies.

    Loved that “gotcha” grin at the end.

    • Why was Hacker embarrassed by his mom at that moment? He told mom to go out. She looked neat. Teenagers. *tsk tsk*
      That was a sad memory. Kyung Soo recalling his rejection of his mother was poignant.

      See THIS is why I’ve been so angry with Do han. He was willing to blow the whole plan when HIS father is hurt but poor little Yoo na
      Knowing that Do Han was aware of Shi Wan intent was upsetting. He is tarnished by this reveal. His choices have been self centered.

      No way I’d trust Do han even though Prosecutor Kim turned himself in for the stuff Do han did.
      Ditto. Prosecutor Yoon didn’t get where he is by blindly trusting people.

  3. Beez says:

    I see I’m on the same page thoughts-wise as kjt and Jane Tilly.

    Believe it or not, I went through and shortened my notes as they were mainly pointing out inconsistencies and non- thought out plot devices. But then I thought about how these K-writers are under the gun every week. As far as I know, they have no team to run stuff by to say “how did the character get from point A to B logically?” And even if they did, there’s probably not enough time to deconstruct the scene as written and change the script and the sets, etc.

    So I figured I should cut writer-nim some slack… for now. Long as it didn’t get too ridiculous.

    • But then I thought about how these K-writers are under the gun every week. As far as I know, they have no team to run stuff by to say “how did the character get from point A to B logically?” And even if they did, there’s probably not enough time to deconstruct the scene as written and change the script and the sets, etc.
      Good point. Writer Kim is new to the process.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Posts
June 2017
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  
Copyright
© kjtamusings.wordpress.com, 2014-2017, All Rights Reserved. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without expressed and written permission from this site’s author is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to kjtamusings.wordpress.com with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
