Lookout – Episode 8

My Thoughts — Lookout — Episode 8 (split episodes 15-16)

At the end of my recaps I have a “My Thoughts” section where I summarize my opinions. For certain series, instead of a recap, which is a blow-by-blow of the episode, I’m writing a thought-cap of the episode.  I just finished episode 8 (split episodes 15 and 16) of Lookout.
Each of the Lookout 16 episodes are split into two. Per Han Cinema…MBC’s latest Monday/Tuesday drama “Lookout” is a 32 episode run…It is a part of a new test split that both MBC and SBS are trying.

My Thoughts

* Good defeating evil isn’t always clear cut.  The justice team – boss Jang Do Han (Kim Young Kwang), former detective now fugitive Jo Soo Ji, hacker Kong Kyung Soo (Key) and “I see everything courtesy of CCTV” Seo Bo Mi (Kim Seul Gi) – supported each other overtly and subtly.

* Prosecutor Jang Do Han (Kim Young Kwang) had to follow his boss’s orders not to help Bo Mi.  He managed to alert a reporter but that wasn’t enough. But Soo Ji added to the mix and had Kyung Soo alert a gaggle of reporters to the scene. Things are harder for Do Han now. His boss is suspicions, his boss’s minion Detective Nam may be suspicious, but it is Prosecutor Kim that got an eyeful when he obtained video of Do Han carrying the injured Soo Ji away from Detective Nam, who had a gun trained on Soo Ji. Is the Priest Do Han’s brother? Is there anyone that Prosecutor Yoon doesn’t consider a pawn in the chess game of life he’s playing?

* Detective Jo Soo Ji (Lee Si Young) survived the gunshoot and disarmed the murderer who was banging on the door that Bo Mi hid behind. Soo Ji planted the gun on him guaranteeing amped up charges for using a weapon. I like the trio living together. I like Soo Ji’s calm determined belief that she must know who the boss is. She told the Father that she needed answers that only the boss could provide. Soo Ji seems to be using more brain than brawn which exactly what is needed if she is to bring powerful prosecutor Yoon Seung Ro and his equally evil son to justice.

* Bo Mi confronted the man that helped killed her family. When she was barricaded in her bedroom the flashback seemed to indicate the American soldiers also had him with them on the night of the murders.

* Team Lead Lee Soon Ae (Kim Sun Young) continued to work to capture Soo Ji. She trusts Prosecutor Kim who has had been ineffectual until recently.

* New writer Kim Soo Eun delivered a solid episode. This episode was quiet compared to the gripping previous episode. But Writer Kim continued to weave team good and team evil tighter. I love the idea of team evil turning on each other and imploding. That won’t be the final solution but it will be enjoyable nonetheless.

* Ranking the episodes (on a scale from 1-10) had me rank this episode as good.  My episode ranking chart is below.

Asian drama fan

Tagged with: ,
Posted in Lookout
7 comments on “Lookout – Episode 8
  1. Beez says:

    There was only one American soldier and the Korean guy who worked at Bo mi’s parents’ restaurant.

    I can not take Do han continuing to allow these culprits out of custody. I don’t care if he turns out to be the most genius-genius because this time it resulted in Bo mi coming face to face with her families’ killer. I don’t blame her for not wanting to hide away any longer because of this [insert insult here cause I can’t think of anything low enough].

    And I want to get an industrial fan and a pitchfork and ruffle thru Do han’s over hairsprayed pompadour. *I am so disgusted*

    Speaking of disgust, did I miss something that showed how Do han spirited Soo ji away from Det.Nam?

    • Speaking of disgust, did I miss something that showed how Do han spirited Soo ji away from Det.Nam?
      Yes, it was explained at the 26 minute mark.

      I can not take Do han continuing to allow these culprits out of custody.
      That bothered me early on when he had the culprit caught but released him. I tell myself Do Han is playing the long game. But he’s actually playing the game as he wants to play it and is more than willing to use his justice team to that end.

  2. Beez says:

    I love how Hacker Boy had an image of Boo mi in his head and walked right past her before he realized how young and beautiful she is. Although, how much of that is bad writing because didn’t he see pictures of Bo mi when they were given the assignment to investigate her family’s case? Or, he did it purposely to bolster her because he did feel bad for always teasing her that she didn’t come outside because she was ugly. I’d prefer that be the reason because otherwise, it would he would be too stupid to be part of this awesome team.

    It touched my heart when he offered Bo mi his hand and told her he’ll hold on so she can go every where she’s always wanted to go.

    I’m looking forward to his backstory although I’m afraid from what little he told Bo mi that it’s going to be heart rending.

    • I love how Hacker Boy had an image of Boo mi in his head and walked right past her before he realized how young and beautiful she is.
      That was a charming moment, especially with him chatting up two women that weren’t her. I’m going to ignore that he should have known what she looked like.

      It touched my heart when he offered Bo mi his hand and told her he’ll hold on so she can go every where she’s always wanted to go
      That was a nice moment. These two have potential for romance, though I’d be fine it there was no romance in this series. All the characters need to have their “eye on the prize”.

    • Jane Tilly says:

      While I agree we shut off our brains for Hacker Boy, AKA Kyung Soo, to not recognize Bo Mi, you would think he could have found internet news and pics 🖼 of Bo Mi and her family 👨‍👩‍👧‍👧. I still enjoyed their first face-to-face interaction. I agree these two have a love 💗 connection possibility, but I’m 🆗 if it doesn’t happen.

      Bo Mi has really come out of her shell 🐚 to be bait 🎣 to catch Jin Goo, the murderer of her family 👨‍👩‍👧‍👧. I found it oDd the police 👮 didn’t come running when they heard the first shots 🔫 fired. Luckily 🍀, it gave time ⏰ for Soo Ji and Bo Mi time to escape.

      I am curious 🕵 about the relationship between Do Han and the priest 📿. I believe Chief Prosecutor Yoons corrupt actions had a negative impact 💢 of their lives, but how…? KJT mentioned the possibility of them being brothers 👬… could be…

      Do Han may be playing the long game 🎲, but I 🚫❤his actions, which are cruel to the victims who had insult upon injury with being further denied justice ⚖. Now that Prosecutor Kim Eun Joong has awareness of Do Han rescuing Soo Ji, will he “out” Do Han, keep an eye 👁 out for Do Han and his actions. Will Eun Joong become Do Han’s ally⁉

      • Do Han may be playing the long game 🎲, but I 🚫❤his actions, which are cruel to the victims who had insult upon injury with being further denied justice ⚖.
        Perfectly put JT. It almost makes him unredeemable.

      • Beez says:

        And if Do han is so brilliantly patient to play the long game, why was he so impatient with his dad? He didn’t give his mentally bruised dad time to really rest and feel safe in the knowledge that it was his son there. Instead, within 2 seconds of his dad calming down and seeming to recognize him, he pulls out his probable torturer’s photo, then proceeds to bark at poor dad. Way to go [small]Brain. *tsk tsk*

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Posts
June 2017
M T W T F S S
« May    
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  
Copyright
© kjtamusings.wordpress.com, 2014-2017, All Rights Reserved. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without expressed and written permission from this site’s author is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to kjtamusings.wordpress.com with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
