Lookout – Episode 7

My Thoughts — Lookout — Episode 7 (split episodes 13-14)

At the end of my recaps I have a “My Thoughts” section where I summarize my opinions. For certain series, instead of a recap, which is a blow-by-blow of the episode, I’m writing a thought-cap of the episode.  I just finished episode 7 (split episodes 13 and 14) of Lookout.
Each of the Lookout 16 episodes are split into two. Per Han Cinema…MBC’s latest Monday/Tuesday drama “Lookout” is a 32 episode run…It is a part of a new test split that both MBC and SBS are trying.

My Thoughts

* Best episode of the series.  I was riveted from the start until the end. At one point I looked at the clock and didn’t know if I could take another 20 minutes of tension. Would two members of the justice team would be caught? The justice team – former detective now fugitive Jo Soo Ji, hacker Kong Kyung Soo (Key) and “I see everything courtesy of CCTV” Seo Bo Mi (Kim Seul Gi) – aren’t exposed yet but the police now are searching for Soo Ji and Bo Mi. Only Kyung Soo isn’t being hunted by the police. Poor guy couldn’t clone himself to do everything he wanted to. My only quibble is how long it took him to drive to their location. That felt way too long.

Soo Ji got shot and was almost killed by a henchman but she managed to escape with a help from the boss and Bo Mi.


* Bo Mi didn’t just walk out of the apartment. She couldn’t. Soo Ji got captured coming back for her. This was an unwanted repeat of Bo Mi’s past. Bo Mi’s older sister was killed after hiding Bo Mi under the bed. Once Bo Mi realized Soo Ji was shot and bleeding on the ground floor, she knew she had to act. Bless her heart, she got out there. But it wasn’t easy. She had a panic attack. A phone call from Kyung Soo and her own pep talk gave her to strength to search for Soo Ji. It was a terrific episode for this character!

* Prosecutor Jang Do Han (Kim Young Kwang) put a target on his back as he strove to help Soo Ji and Bo Mi and not blow his cover.  He wasn’t completely successful, which was awesome. So far, he’s not made any missteps because he’s held to a carefully scripted set of actions. But all hell broke loose and he had to improvise. Some of his actions were out of character and the good guys and the bad guys took notice.  Prosecutor Kim is now suspicious of Do Han. Does Do Han realize this? The powerful prosecutor Yoon Seung Ro is now suspicious of Do Han. Does Do Han realize this?


* Detective Jo Soo Ji (Lee Si Young) couldn’t save Bo Mi and she couldn’t save herself.
Soo Ji has been almost superhuman this series. This episode the good luck ended. The police captured her. Prosecutor Kim told her this time he’d capture the powerful puppet master. Soo Ji didn’t believe him and pointedly stated that the system was rigged so the truth would never come to light. I could only agree. Prosecutor Kim clings to the system to capture and prosecute criminals. But the system is headed by a criminal and his lackeys that twist situations to his favor. Rouge efforts is the only way justice can be obtained.

* Team Lead Lee Soon Ae (Kim Sun Young) saw Detective Nam break away to capture Soo Ji. Does she realize that Detective Nam did this at the direction of a more powerful person? Does she realize Detective Nam is a lackey for Prosecutor Yoon?

* New writer Kim Soo Eun delivered a tight, tense, riveting episode. Soo Ji had to be captured at some point. But the right set of circumstances allowed her to escape. The target on Soo Ji’s back just got bigger. The boss Do Han now has a target on his back. Bo Mi now has a target on her back. Navigating the intricacies of the old cases, good and bad forces, will not be easy or for the faint of heart. Hold on, this is going to be a riveting ride!

* Ranking the episodes (on a scale from 1-10) had me rank this episode as excellent.  My episode ranking chart is below.

Asian drama fan

Tagged with: ,
Posted in Lookout
8 comments on “Lookout – Episode 7
  1. Beez says:

    I agree and can’t remember where Kong Kyung Soo was headed that would place him so far away that it was night time before he got [where?]. I don’t know where he ended up either.

    And it’s unbelievable that the police did not enter Bo mi’s place long before they did. And while I understand her fear immobilized her and kept her from leaving when Soo ji wanted her to, but what was she thinking? Was she planning on staying in the apartment and waiting for the police to come in? If so, why not at least erase her hard drives and turn off the cctv cameras? Remember, all of this happened before she knew Soo ji was injured and in trouble.

    I can’t imagine how Do han managed to hide So ji from Det. Nam when he was carrying her and under gunpoint. Show better pull a logical rabbit out of its azz cause this makes no sense unless he magically managed to knock out Det. Nam (all while holding Soo ji and standing 20 feet away).

    And however Do han managed to hide Soo ji, wouldn’t he know that Det. Nam would’ve told Fat-cat Dirty Prosecutor that Do han is helping Soo ji?

    • I was so riveted by this episode that I was willing overlook the logic gaps.

      And while I understand her fear immobilized her and kept her from leaving when Soo ji wanted her to, but what was she thinking?
      You put it perfectly, she was immobilized and paralyzed by her fear.

      I can’t imagine how Do han managed to hide So ji from Det. Nam when he was carrying her and under gunpoint….wouldn’t he know that Det. Nam would’ve told Fat-cat Dirty Prosecutor that Do han is helping Soo ji
      Concur with all you on all head scratching points. It’s a “Lucy, you got some ‘splainin’ to do” moment for Writer Kim.

    • Jane Tilly says:

      대복, what a gripping ✊ pair of episodes‼. I ❤ that Bo Mi was able to leave her sanctuary 🏢 out of necessity to help Soo Ji. Color 🖍 me 🎊surprised🎉 Bo Mi’s sanctuary was the same apartment where her family 👨‍👨‍👧‍👧 was murdered‼ No wonder she was paralyzed with fear‼

      Soo Ji’s escape via clotheslines 👖👚👖👗👖 was amazing‼. She gave her all to protect Bo Mi, which was repaid 💵 in kind with Bo Mi stretching herself beyond 🌈 what she could believe she was capable of doing to rescue Soo Ji. Well done Bo Mi 👏, well done 👏‼

      Do Han finally got to me when he scooped 🆙 Soo Ji in his arms 💪. Do Han risked exposing himself and his plan to get the Chief Prosecutor to do the right thing. I finally feel like he is building 🏗 trust.

      I was 🎊surprised🎉 Det. Nam was the mole; thought the young cop 👮 was the evil 😈 prosecutor’s mole. I figured something was up when Det. Nam showed up by himself to arrest 🚔 Soo Ji. I’m a bit irked 😡 Nam wasn’t busted for his actions, but I suppose Boss Jang needed to buy some more time to implement his plan 📃 to take down ⏬ the evil Prosecutor.

      • Beez says:

        I suppose the writer could find a way to change my mind about Do han before the end of the series, but I doubt it.

      • Jane Tilly says:

        Do Han got to me, but I don’t 🚫 totally trust 😒 him; I simply see a glimmer ✨ of hope 🙏 that he could really be a good guy.

        • Beez says:

          @Jane Tilly, I don’t think he’s necessarily a “bad guy” but if you look at it from Soo ji’s point of view, he definitely is. And if Worm Face (I think that’s what your emoji is for him?) hurts another little girl before Do han enacts his big genius scheme for revenge, then what? And if Murderer of Bo mi’s family (hereinafter called Deranged Boo Hoo-er) had successfully killed Bo mi this time, then what?

          And even if Ratface Chief Prosecutor Yoon goes down, how does that stop his son from murdering little girls? I have not been liking that the show (including Su ji) seem to think bringing down Ratface Yoon equates with punishing Worm Face.

          Maybe Do han’s plan is to get them both, but too much can happen to innocent people while he plays the long game.

          I was so disappointed and glad at the same time when Su ji turned back and fired those two bullets. I thought it was into Deranged BooHoo-er, but I guess not. I was thrilled when I thought she did it because it would mean she did it so Bo mi never has to be afraid or look over her shoulder the rest of her life because of him. But then disappointed she didn’t really do it but also glad that it means she hasn’t gone off the deep end to become a bad guy herself.

          *just crazy Beez-wax* 🙂

      • Jane Tilly says:

        I see your point Beez, I have more 4⃣1⃣1⃣ than Soo Ji and I’m just starting to think ☁️ Do Han isn’t such a bad guy; Soo Ji isn’t privy to the 4⃣1⃣1⃣ we viewers have seen 👁👁. Soo Ji has pretty much seen just the smarmy side of Do Han (will she remember Do Han rescuing her from Det Nam⁉). Do Han’s actions in aiding and abetting worm 🐛 boy 👦 evading charges in Yoon Na’s murder were reprehensible; is there any possible explanation to set things right⁉

        I see you are minding your 🐝-z wax🕯‼

        • Beez says:

          @Jane Tilly Yuuuup. Even with the bts info that we viewers have, I find Do han unpalatable. To me, once he had to pass on the order telling the police not to intervene even if they heard Bo mi being killed, it should’ve been game off and yelling over the radio to the police that they SHOULD intervene. Even though Yoon would counter that order through Det. Nam but the uniforms would’ve probably already have entered the apartment. Do han should’ve been running to help (or calling Cutie Patootie Hacker or the Priest to help). He had no way of knowing (I don’t think) that Soo ji would rescue Bo mi on time because Soo ji was laid up injured for all he knew. I get that his revenge makes him highly motivated with one goal in mind, but the rest of the team has sacrificed everything, even risking their freedom and lives, when they’ve seen the others in peril.

          On the other hand, if I didn’t know Do han was our team’s leader, I think it would’ve been really cool to despise him like I do and then have it revealed much later that he’s the mysterious boss. But I was suspecting early on because of the way the show’s promotional poster has him with the group.

          If he had not been on the poster that way, I’d only be able to look back in retrospect and marvel that he was the boss. This way, I’m questioning his every move and not liking it… or him.

          On a side note, I loved it when Deranged Boo Hoo-er was yanked back by his hair and it was revealed to be Soo ji!

          But I don’t get why Detective Soonae and the other cops waited to move until they heard the two shots Su ji fired. They all heard the first shot that Bo mi fired. Was it because of the “don’t enter no matter what” order? And if so, why move when they heard the second pair of shots?

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Posts
June 2017
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  
Copyright
© kjtamusings.wordpress.com, 2014-2017, All Rights Reserved. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without expressed and written permission from this site’s author is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to kjtamusings.wordpress.com with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
