Lookout – Episode 6

My Thoughts — Lookout — Episode 6 (split episodes 11-12)

At the end of my recaps I have a “My Thoughts” section where I summarize my opinions. For certain series, instead of a recap, which is a blow-by-blow of the episode, I’m writing a thought-cap of the episode.  I just finished episode 6 (split episodes 11 and 12) of Lookout.
Each of the Lookout 16 episodes are split into two. Per Han Cinema…MBC’s latest Monday/Tuesday drama “Lookout” is a 32 episode run…It is a part of a new test split that both MBC and SBS are trying.

My Thoughts

 * We learned Bo Mi’s backstory. The justice team  – former detective now fugitive Jo Soo Ji, hacker, Kong Kyung Soo (Key) and “I see everything courtesy of CCTV” Seo Bo Mi (Kim Seul Gi) – all have a backstory. We know Soo Ji’s backstory but Kyung Soo and Bo Mi’s were a mystery. We knew that Bo Mi had to stay hidden our of fear. Last episode we saw Bo Mi stare at a family photo and have a flashback that seemed to indicate her family was murdered but she escaped. This episode we learned that two American soldiers visited Bo Mi’s parent’s eatery. They spied the full cash register. They robbed and killed Bo Mi’s parents in their bedroom and she saw them arguing about the murders with the bundles of money in their hands. Bo Mi ran to her bedroom where her older sister was sleeping. She managed to say burglars and her sister pressed her under the bed while going to shut the door. The men found and murdered her sister, dragging her from Bo Mi’s sight while her sister stared in horror. Yikes!

I was glad that the boss finally gave the green light for Bo Mi’s case to take front and center. Soo Ji and Kyung Soo were completely supportive. It turns out there was an inside connection to the murders – either an uncle, a delivery boy, or chef. The uncle was murdered as the delivery boy (I believe I got that correct) demanded to know Bo Mi’s whereabouts. To Bo Mi’s horror, she witnessed and heard the murder from her Uncle’s hacked phone that was streaming video from the camera.

 * The powerful prosecutor Yoon Seung Ro thwarted the capture of the American soldiers that murdered Bo Mi’s parents. He is scum. Part of me is impressed how many people he’s manipulated into cleaning up his messes and keeping his secrets. His son (Yoon Shi Wan) learned from the father and has a disturbing creepy factor. When he stares and smiles, I shudder. His mother knows all isn’t right with her beloved only son, but she can’t deal with it.

* Detective Jo Soo Ji (Lee Si Young) cleverly hacked the priest’s phone and got one step closer to identifying the boss. She recognized the Priest though he denied meeting her. Aren’t men of the cloth supposed to tell the truth? With the hacked phone they were able to listen and trace the phone call the priest made to the boss (Do Han) who realized the situation and trashed his phone. But they were able to determine the phone’s last location was the Prosecutors building. Yep, Soo Ji knows the boss is a prosecutor. I appreciated it when Soo Ji called her mother and told her not to apologize for the day her daughter died. She correctly pointed out that there was a line of people that should apologize to them.

 * Team Lead Lee Soon Ae (Kim Sun Young) told her daughter to keep away from Shin Wan. I’m worried for her daughter who seems to doubt that evil Yoon Shi Wan killed Soo Ji’s daughter. Now Shi Wan realizes Team Leader Lee is one of the police officers that helped stop Soo Ji from injuring him. That can’t be good.


* Prosecutor Jang Do Han (Kim Young Kwang) is revealed to be the boss.
 
 Do Han continues doing what he does best – manipulation. He maneuvered Seung Ro (recall he falsely accused and prosecuted his father for espionage) but he’s playing the long game and isn’t taking quick drastic steps. Do Han isn’t the most likable character. He’s a snake. But his goal is shared by his team, get Seung Ro and make him pay.

* New writer Kim Soo Eun delivered a solid episode. Evil prosecutor Yoon Seung Ro and his creepy son Yoon Shi Wan are connected to the justice team’s backstories. Soo Jin realized that Seung Ro is the ultimate target. She was onboard with that. I am too. I want the justice team to settle the score with with Seung Ro and his despicable son.

* Ranking the episodes (on a scale from 1-10) had me rank this episode as good.  My episode ranking chart is below.

Asian drama fan

Tagged with: ,
Posted in Lookout
8 comments on “Lookout – Episode 6
  1. Beez says:

    “Now Shi Wan realizes Team Leader Lee is one of the police officers that helped stop Soo Ji from injuring him. That can’t be good.”
    I KNOW! That creeped me out! This young actor is very good at appearing innocent to his friends and creepy to So ji and to us.

    So glad Do han is the leader. I suspected he was but I was thrown by the hooded guy that met with the priest in earlier episodes.

    I needed Do han to be the leader because then I can accept his sliminess as “not really who he is” but rather is an act a la Scarlet Pimpernel. You know how the disguised hero always plays a wimp, or unconcerned, irresponsible playboy/scoundrel wasting his inheritance or potential but is actually fighting the powers that be. YAY! I wanted to like Do han and now I can. But if they go the romance route (and this is one of the rare times I hope they don’t), I need to see his true, presumably likeable, character before I can ship him with our girl Soo ji.

    • That creeped me out! This young actor is very good at appearing innocent to his friends and creepy to So ji and to us.
      He’s so creepy I struggle to watch him turn his calculating stare on someone.

      I needed Do han to be the leader because then I can accept his sliminess as “not really who he is” but rather is an act a la Scarlet Pimpernel.
      Concur.

      But if they go the romance route (and this is one of the rare times I hope they don’t), I need to see his true, presumably likeable, character before I can ship him with our girl Soo ji.
      I do not want romance. They have a shared mission. They need to focus on taking down evil and only that.

  2. Beez says:

    And oh, btw, it was one American soldier and an Asian (Korean?) guy. While the American soldier who said “this place is loaded” WAS sitting in the restaurant with another American soldier when he said that, he was not with another Anglo person but was with an Asian guy at the robbery-murder.

    I was kind of glad too because at one time, there was a trend of any time you saw an American in Kdrama, they did some violent crime. Well, this American did, but by there also being an Asian with him, that somehow made it not quite as racist? \_(ツ)_/¯ 

    • t was one American soldier and an Asian (Korean?) guy.
      I could have used a recap to reference that point!

      there was a trend of any time you saw an American in Kdrama, they did some violent crime.
      Yep, that was a “thing”.

  3. Beez says:

    I just clicked on your Thoughtcap for ep7 and had to quickly click out of it as I realize that I haven’t seen that episode yet. Besides being busy these days, I had decided to wait for you, kjt, to catch up so we could discuss certain things. But when you didn’t mention Soo ji jumping onto the clotheslines and that amazing fight scene, I thought I was too early to mention it in this thought cap. But it must’ve been thus episode that it happened in.

    Wasn’t that amazing? I’m sure there was choreography involved but it didn’t look like it. There was no fancy martial arts moves, no boxing, it was a BRAWL with Soo ji throwing elbows,literally, left and right! I knew this actress was considered tough because of the real life boxing (my first viewing of her was on an episode of Running Man where, when the hosts were told she was coming, they were all trembling in their boots. Haha! And I found out why, because she was no-holds-barred in the physical games.

    Even knowing that about her, I am even more impressed with her dedication to the action scenes. Even with choreography and wires, there’s still got to be a fair amount of bruising that occurs in a scene where you’re taken to the ground and wrestling like that. Not to mention hanging onto the clothesline under the arms and stuff. *picture that I inserted clapping hands emjoi here*

    • i jumping onto the clotheslines and that amazing fight scene…Wasn’t that amazing? I’m sure there was choreography involved but it didn’t look like it. There was no fancy martial arts moves, no boxing, it was a BRAWL with Soo ji throwing elbows,literally, left and right!
      So glad you brought this point up because Soo Ji is bad-ass and this fight was a perfect example of that. Brawl is the perfect word. Plus it didn’t look weird that she was beating up the guys. She was desperate and did not hold back.

      Even knowing that about her, I am even more impressed with her dedication to the action scenes.
      Lee Si Young is kinda awesome.

  4. Jane Tilly says:

    Yup, I concur that 🐛👦 is very creepy‼ I wouldn’t want my child to be around this sadistic excuse for a human being.

    I ❤ Beez analogy of Do Han to the Scarlet 🏵 Pimpernel. I want to like Do Han too, but the slimy factor has restrained me so far. I want to see Do Han being a good person without turning around and doing something slimy. Is Do Han slimy simply as a disguise or is he genuinely slimy⁉

    I cannot imagine how horrible it must have been for Bo Mi to witness her uncle’s murder. I would think her fear 😨 factor just increased ➕ substantially‼

    • Jane Tilly says:

      Darn it that flower was red on my display. Let’s
      see if any of these pink flowers display differently 🌸🌼💠

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Posts
June 2017
M T W T F S S
« May    
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  
Copyright
© kjtamusings.wordpress.com, 2014-2017, All Rights Reserved. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without expressed and written permission from this site’s author is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to kjtamusings.wordpress.com with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
