Lookout – Episode 4

My Thoughts — Lookout — Episode 4 (split episodes 7-8)

At the end of my recaps I have a “My Thoughts” section where I summarize my opinions. For certain series, instead of a recap, which is a blow-by-blow of the episode, I’m writing a thought-cap of the episode.  I just finished episode 4 (split episodes 7 and 8) of Lookout.
Each of the Lookout 16 episodes are split into two. Per Han Cinema…MBC’s latest Monday/Tuesday drama “Lookout” is a 32 episode run…It is a part of a new test split that both MBC and SBS are trying.

My Thoughts


* Now things start to gell.
 The justice team  – former detective now fugitive Jo Soo Ji, hacker, Kong Kyung Soo (Key) and “I see everything courtesy of CCTV” Seo Bo Mi (Kim Seul Gi) – worked together to catch the original criminal series of this series Kim Woo Sung. We come full circle and fully understand the initial chase scene that began this series. Now we know why Woo Sung’s wife wasn’t wearing a seatbelt, which had bugged me. Woo Sung disabled her seatbelt with intent to kill her in a car accident. She couldn’t escape the car as he’d locked her in. Thank goodness Soo Ji saved the wife’s life by sliding her bike under an oncoming truck stopping it inches away from impact. Now how Soo Ji managed to escape a gaggle of police, on foot, isn’t realistic but I didn’t care. As she noted, she had work to do and the police cannot capture her yet. We got a sense that the justice team is bonding and each have their own challenges. Bo Mi revealed that she may be in hiding just like Woo Sung’s wife was.

* The powerful prosecutor Yoon Seung Ro continues to reveal himself to be as bad as the criminals. He released Woo Sung and redirected the public’s attention to the fugitive Soo Ji. This guy is scum. His downfall and his son’s downfall will be satisfying. Corruption and misused power are themes and what the justice team fights to right.

* Detective Jo Soo Ji (Lee Si Young) rose once again in my esteem. She returned to kick butt form when she beat Woo Sung, twice! The second fight scene was especially good. It could have been two men fighting. My satisfaction rocketed up when the voice recording of Woo Sung admitting that someone high up in the prosecutor’s office helped him get office was plastered on the billboard and reporters’ phones simultaneously. Of course Soo Ji couldn’t let Woo Sung’s daughter be forgotten. She had to save her. Her daughter’s death caused by the hands of the powerful prosecutor’s son, Yoon Shi Wan, will forever make her need to save children. Soo Ji could be the poster child for “leave no child behind”.


* Team Lead Lee Soon Ae (Kim Sun Young) spoke with Soo Ji and confirmed their friendship.
That doesn’t mean she won’t capture Soo Ji but she now knows her friend is working towards a bigger picture. She’s not just a fugitive in hiding.

* Prosecutor Jang Do Han (Kim Young Kwang) started to spring the trap to catch his boss and the Chief Prosecutor. We know that Do Han has his own axe to grind with the Chief Prosecutor who falsely accused and prosecuted his father for espionage. He got a level of satisfaction knowing the heat was on the evil prosecutor management chain.

* We learned more the about the justice team trio but their boss is still a mystery. Is Do Han the boss of the justice team? Who is the priest? Who is the priest’s friend? His brother?

* New writer Kim Soo Eun delivered an episode that tightened the net around the culprits I want to see caught. I know the evil has to flourish before good came triumph. That was the previous episode and it chaffed me. But this episode the justice team had a couple of winning moments. They haven’t won the war, but they won a couple of skirmishes. There were several moments were I shook my head at the logic gaps, but as long as the focus is incremental progress to bring the untouchable to justice, I’ll overlook them.

* Ranking the episodes (on a scale from 1-10) had me rank this episode as good.  My episode ranking chart is below.

* If you are interested in the series relationship chart, check it out.

Asian drama fan

Tagged with: ,
Posted in Lookout
5 comments on “Lookout – Episode 4
  1. Beez says:

    “Is Do Han the boss of the justice team?” That’s what I’ve been wondering. And the relationship chart you’ve provided really makes me think so. Except by including Do han on the poster and on the chart like that, then the boss is no longer a mystery so maybe not.

    • I’m leaning that way too, but what’s with the priest and the man that visited him in the confessional? It was that guy that I initially pegged as the boss.

      • Beez says:

        I’ve been waiting to ask you if you recognized the guy who met with the priest in the confessional. I kept thinking it was Do han but, even with the hood pulled half over his face, it was obvious it wasn’t him (but that would’ve been so cool and would mean he’s a Scarlet Pimpernel/Zorro/Bruce Wayne/ Hwi Young type!) But alas, it wasn’t him. 😦 Only if he’s an intricate part of the team will I be able to stop cringing every time he’s on screen. He’s playing slimy so well.

      • I’ve been waiting to ask you if you recognized the guy who met with the priest in the confessional.
        I’ve got no clue. I want to know about him. I can’t imagine that he doesn’t matter.

        Do han …Only if he’s an intricate part of the team will I be able to stop cringing every time he’s on screen. He’s playing slimy so well
        He does wear slimy well! The writer has Do Han playing the long game. He’s willing to wait to get the kind of revenge he wants. The boss is patient too. Hmmm.

      • Jane Tilly says:

        Do Han does play slimy very well.l,is it part of his guise ⁉ I think Do Han is the boss and it is possible he was the hooded man in the church ⛪

        I hope 🙏 the police 👮 have Woo Sung for good this time‼ That piece of human trash 🗑 could not care less that he put his daughter 👧 in danger ⚠. A child would quickly be a human popsicle 🍦 in a freezer truck. Woo Sung using his daughter as a pawn disgusts me 😞👎‼

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Posts
June 2017
M T W T F S S
« May    
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  
Copyright
© kjtamusings.wordpress.com, 2014-2017, All Rights Reserved. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without expressed and written permission from this site’s author is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to kjtamusings.wordpress.com with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
