My Sassy Girl – Episode 2

My Thoughts — My Sassy Girl — Episode 2

At the end of my recaps I have a “My Thoughts” section where I summarize my opinions. I just finished episode 2 of My Sassy Girl.  

My Thoughts


* Our leads forged a tentative working relationship.
 I’m glad they know who the other is. You can only keep your identity a secret for so and then it becomes a hindrance to the story. Writer Yoon avoided that trap. Are our leads destined to be friends but not lovers? I know little about the premise so I’m watching this blind to the intent. Where the first episode felt okay, this one was an improvement. Our leads play off each other well. You could quibble actions and reactions are a bit over the top, but all the characters are like this so the consistency makes it work.


Quick side notes:
I like Kyun Woo’s family. His mother, sister and father are good people. I like the Princess’s brother and father. The King has been controlled but a long time and is chaffing. His comment that hitting the target wasn’t necessary rather there was merit in drawing the bow, was intriguing. I take that to mean he has brains and some kind of plan. Kyun Woo’s friends came across better. I like the daughter of the King’s controller (Jung Ki Joon) likes Kyun Woo. That will put her at odds with her father who will undoubtedly try and eliminate Kyun Woo. Even the Queen whining about not being able to produce an heir because the King wouldn’t sleep with her, made sense. She wasn’t the power that stems for her own flesh and blood on the throne, not the son from the former Queen she’s raised as her own. She was foolish not see the day coming the King would want to make him the Crown Prince.


* Kyun Woo (Joo Won) lost the ring, gained oversight of the prince, and realized the prickly porcupine of a woman was the princess.
She successfully twisted his arm to search for the ring together but to no avail. His dream position of teaching the sweet prince (I like this kid) is a dangerous role. Kyun Woo’s father realizes this but Kyun Woo seems unaware. Chemistry between leads is important and Joo Won and Yeon Seo have forged a partnership that will serve this series well. Now we need Writer Yoon to deliver an interesting story. I have full faith that our leads can effectively portray whatever comes on the pages of the script.


* Princess Hye Myung (Oh Yeon Seo) is self centered but not mean.
What is the significance of the ring? Who gave it to her? I was thinking her father gave it to her as a last rearmament of her mother. But the setting of the oak tree didn’t lend itself to that. Watching the man kneel before the gangster gave her an inkling that life may be hard outside the palace walls. She also got a whiff of that when she learned there was a famine while she eschewed the bounty before her. The princess has potential.

* New writer Yoon Hyo Je gave me hope with this second episode. No, I’m not riveted yet. But this episode had more substance than farce. That is a tricky line to walk in writing and production, balancing story that relies on physical comedy for relief from the typical historical heavy handed palace intrigue. With this series at 32 episodes, we’ve got a long way to go.

* Ranking the episodes (on a scale from 1-10) had me rank episode 1 as fairly good.  My episode ranking chart is below.

Asian drama fan

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in My Sassy Girl
2 comments on “My Sassy Girl – Episode 2
  1. Jane Tilly says:

    OMO, the looks on the face’s of the princess 👸 and Kyun Woo when they recognized each other was priceless 🚫💲‼

    I 💗 the sibling dynamic between the princess 👸 and the crown 👑 prince. Color 🖍 me 🎊surprised🎉 the crown 👑 prince thinks the scheming queen is his bio mom. At this point it would be devastating for the crown 👑 prince to discover the truth. No wonder the king is not sleeping with the queen; I’m sure his Royal Highness realizes the crown 👑 Prince’s life would be in mortal danger if the scheming queen were to give birth to a prince.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Posts
June 2017
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  
Copyright
© kjtamusings.wordpress.com, 2014-2017, All Rights Reserved. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without expressed and written permission from this site’s author is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to kjtamusings.wordpress.com with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
