My Sassy Girl – Episode 1

My Thoughts — My Sassy Girl — Episode 1

At the end of my recaps I have a “My Thoughts” section where I summarize my opinions. I just finished episode 1 of My Sassy Girl.  

My Thoughts


* I dislike the “drunk and puke” first encounter between a couple.
 Dramas love to use this cliche. I do not like watching it. I’ll put it behind me.


* Kyun Woo (Joo Won) could be considered “My Sassy Guy”.
He’s smart, good with a quip and unafraid to speak his mind. It looks like he’ll need to become more aware of the palace politics. I’m watching this drama for Joo Won who is one of the actors I regularly watch. My Sassy Girl was the last drama before enlisting in the army on May 16 to fulfill his mandatory service, so I plan to savor his portrayal. Joo Won is adept a physical comedy as Tomorrow’s Cantabile proved.


* Princess Hye Myung (Oh Yeon Seo) is spirited and a bit tactless.
I’m all for a princess that isn’t demure and dull. I liked when she played soccer with the young prince saving him from boring studies and providing a bit of exercise. Of course the Queen wasn’t appreciative. Oh Yeon Seo is adept a physical comedy as Come Back Mister proved. Her skin looked fabulous.

* New writer Yoon Hyo Je delivered an initial episode that dangled potential but didn’t fully grab me. What is it with all the new writers in 2017? I’m all for fresh faces in writers, but goodness! 2017 new writer dramas I’ve watched include Voice (Writer Ma), Tunnel (Writer Lee), and My Secret Romance (Writer Kim). My Sassy Girl is pre-produced which bumps my expectations of a writer and the production team.

* Ranking the episodes (on a scale from 1-10) had me rank episode 1 as fair.  My episode ranking chart is below.

* The 1st song of the OST “Because It Is You” by The One is a ballad.

Asian drama fan

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in My Sassy Girl
6 comments on “My Sassy Girl – Episode 1
  1. studiomarie says:

    Wow, you are on point as always. I love reading your recaps because you are able to express in words what I feel. I too, watched Tomorrow Cantabile for him and the incredible soundtrack. Loved his shades in the opening scene. Thanks for the rating system. Too funny.

    • Thank you for the kind words. That made my day! I’m trying the rating system for the shows were I’m doing “thought caps” not recaps. Often when I look back on a series I’ll think about the where it peaked, or a particularly good episode. I’m wondering if the rating system will capture that. We shall see.

      I can’t believe the Joo Won is already gone to the military. I hope this series gives us good memories of him to tide us over!

  2. Noël says:

    I love Joo Won as well, so I’m hanging on for him. I shared many of your sentiments. Hated the puke scene, and the episode was a bit bland in terms of grabbing my attention. Not awful, just not great either.

  3. Jane Tilly says:

    I concur this was a cliché beginning to My Sassy Girl. I 💗 both Joo Won & Oh Yeon Seo, I look 👁👁 forward ⏩ to seeing how they work together.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Posts
June 2017
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  
Copyright
© kjtamusings.wordpress.com, 2014-2017, All Rights Reserved. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without expressed and written permission from this site’s author is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to kjtamusings.wordpress.com with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
