Lookout – Episode 3

My Thoughts — Lookout — Episode 3 (split episodes 5-6)

At the end of my recaps I have a “My Thoughts” section where I summarize my opinions. I just finished episode 3 of Lookout.  

Each of Lookout’s 16 episodes are split into two. Per Han Cinema…MBC’s latest Monday/Tuesday drama “Lookout” is a 32 episode run…It is a part of a new test split that both MBC and SBS are trying.

My Thoughts

* Injustice is still rampant one year later. Former detective now fugitive Jo Soo Ji works with a hacker, Kong Kyung Soo (Key) and Seo Bo Mi (Kim Seul Gi) who could claim “I see everything courtesy of CCTV”. After a year of silence from their unknown boss gives them the assignment to find out who a criminal (from episode one) is planning to kidnap. They figure it out but they can’t catch the culprit. Inside Soo Ji is spotted by the police. They begin to pursue her once again.

But the powerful prosecutor’s son that killed her daughter and his more powerful prosecutor father are living a better life than 1 year ago. That chafes Soo Jin. It chafes me too.


* Detective Jo Soo Ji (Lee Si Young) had poor execution in catching the kidnappers.
Her move to break the van’s window from the motorcycle was cool but it went downhill from there. She threw the glass breaker away. Dumb. She stopped the van with the kidnappers (3 males) and one child, and tried to open the sliding door to retrieve the girl. Short-sighted. They shut the door in her face. They drove away. No surprise. She hung on for all she was worth but they shook her off. As expected. I want  better choices from Soo Ji. I want revenge as much as she does. I want her to earn it and be strong all the way.


* Team Lead Lee Soon Ae (Kim Sun Young) spotted her friend on CCTV and now must bring her.
She kindly checks on Soo Ji’s mother. I like her. Like most other clean cops, is appears everyone up the management chain is corrupt.


* Prosecutor Jang Do Han (Kim Young Kwang) is still sucking up to the Chief Prosecutor. 
We know that Do Han has his own axe to grind with the Chief Prosecutor who falsely accused and prosecuted his father for espionage. But Do Han has not tried to get revenge yet. He had less screen time these two episodes which focused primarily on the justice team trio.


* We know a bit more about the justice team.
 While I like the characters, they were not engaging as I’d hoped. More like squabbling co-workers. The real question is who is the boss? What’s with the priest? Are the brothers?

* New writer Kim Soo Eun delivered an episode that felt flat but laid the groundwork for the justice team. The first two episodes had a quick pace and emotional punch. It’s crucial for the justice league put the strong villains in jail. But nothing happened to them this episode. Instead, the show concentrated on a criminal from the first episode. It just wasn’t riveting and a bit of a let down after the awesome second episode.

* Ranking the episodes (on a scale from 1-10) had me rank episode 3 as fair.  My episode ranking chart is below.

* The third song of the OST “Trickling” by Raina is a nice ballad.

Asian drama fan

Tagged with: ,
Posted in Lookout
10 comments on “Lookout – Episode 3
  1. Beez says:

    I think she thought no one was in the seat beside the child. I know I didn’t see the guy and was surprised when he sat forward and closed the door.

    I think you might want to consider adjusting your chart to correspond with scoring it after the second episode of the week. Here’s my reasoning: You would normally never watch half an episode and judge just that portion as causing the entire episode to fail. So far, these shows have not been purposely written for half hour formats. The networks took shows written for 1 hour (approximately) and split them.

    So far the episode splits of shows hasn’t made any difference to me, but just like how this “half episode” left you feeling flat, I wonder if it will cause S.K. viewers to tune out. Not just for this show, but all of them with this format. If viewers aren’t grabbed by the first half and don’t come back after the lonnnng commercial break…

    If the networks permanently adopt this format, and S.K. viewers are changing the channel or not coming back, that could also mean that writers will have to adjust where they put the cliffhangers. I don’t think this will bode well for them (writers & production crews) or for us viewers.

    Can you imagine being a writer on a Kdrama? That must be on the top 10 list of most stressful jobs in S.K. smh

    • I think she thought no one was in the seat beside the child. I know I didn’t see the guy and was surprised when he sat forward and closed the door
      That’s a good point. I wasn’t happy when she threw the instrument she broke the window with on the ground. That was a good weapon. She was approach a van with 2 men in the front seat. The helmet toss was ridiculous.

      Here’s my reasoning: You would normally never watch half an episode and judge just that portion as causing the entire episode to fail. So far, these shows have not been purposely written for half hour formats. The networks took shows written for 1 hour (approximately) and split them.
      Agreed. If you notice, I’m discussing the episode that was split (Episode 3 (split episodes 5-6)), into a single “thought cap” and rating that the entire episode.

      Can you imagine being a writer on a Kdrama?
      I think that’s why we are seeing so many new writers. Kdrama writers must be “hire them young, burn them out” commodities.

      • Beez says:

        Yeah, I thought the same thing about the weapon, but tried to tell myself that she needed one hand to grab onto the van and the other hand to try to pull the child out so no time to collapse the thing in order to hold onto it, but the helmet toss was utterly ridiculous. Especially when she could’ve used it too bash some heads!

        “I’m discussing the episode that was split (Episode 3 (split episodes 5-6)), into a single “thought cap” and rating that the entire episode.” kjt

        Ohhhhhh. I see it now. I swear sometimes my eyes see what they assume they’re going to see. I guess because I was so enthralled, that I thought for this installment set (Ep3) to leave you feeling flat, that you must’ve only been accounting for the first half. So sorry for misinterpreting that all across the board!

  2. Jane Tilly says:

    Tossing the helmet ⛑ was incredibly rash and irresponsible … Soo Ji has exposed herself to the police 👮 and bad guys. That exposure will hamper her ability to accomplish vigilante justice ⚖.

    Is Do Han the Big Boss or is it the priest ⛪⁉

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Posts
June 2017
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  
Copyright
© kjtamusings.wordpress.com, 2014-2017, All Rights Reserved. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without expressed and written permission from this site’s author is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to kjtamusings.wordpress.com with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
