Lookout – Episode 2

My Thoughts — Lookout — Episode 2 (split episodes 3-4)

At the end of my recaps I have a “My Thoughts” section where I summarize my opinions. I just finished episode 2 of Lookout.  This show has grabbed my attention.

Each of Lookout’s 16 episodes are split into two. Per Han Cinema…MBC’s latest Monday/Tuesday drama “Lookout” is a 32 episode run…It is a part of a new test split that both MBC and SBS are trying.

My Thoughts

* Injustice is a bitter pill. Wow! This episode was riveting. The powerful prosecutor’s son escaped justice. His smug arrogance, crocodile tears, and unwavering belief that he could not be touched, raised my ire, my blood lust, and my absolute belief that crushing this worm-boy will be beyond satisfying and is only demand I place on Writer Kim.


* Detective Jo Soo Ji (Lee Si Young) faced devastating losses on multiple fronts – personally and professionally.
 Her daughter was pushed from a rooftop. She identified the culprit. But everything went wrong after that. Her daughter confirmed who her attacker was. But none of this mattered in the skilled hands of those wanting to thwart justice and bend the law to suit their desires.

The absolute cruelty of Soo Ji getting the call from the hospital that her daughter had died after the unsuccessful interrogation of her killer was stunning. Did Soo Ji lose it? Yes. Was she justified? Yes.

Then when she went to the justice building holding her daughter’s picture after the funeral and yelled that the Chief Prosecutor’s son was a killer, was justice served? No. Did Soo Ji lose it? Yes. Was she justified? Yes.

Then when she went to the killer’s school and aimed a gun at him. Did he admit it? Yes, but in a cruel manner. Initially all he said was that he couldn’t believe that she didn’t fall for his innocent act. When she stretched him over the window with the gun to his head, he wouldn’t admit it. All was lost as the boy’s mother, police, and finally Team Leader Lee arrived to stop Soo Ji from killing her daughter’s murderer. Then the cruel, evil, scum of a killer looked back at Soo Ji and mouthed “I killed her” and grinned! OMG!!!! I’m furious recalling this moment. Did Soo Ji lose it? Yes. Was she justified? Yes.

Soo Ji’s world was destroyed. Her daughter was murdered and justice was subverted by the powerful. Now she’s been identified by the justice team (I’m sure they have a better name than that) to join them.

* Team Lead Lee Soon Ae (Kim Sun Young) couldn’t save her friend and team member from the crushing blow of life’s innate unfairness. She watched Soo Ji explode and implode. She helped as much as she could. But she was battling with forces beyond her control. She was helpless to avert the tide of injustice.


* Prosecutor Jang Do Han (Kim Young Kwang) effectively manipulated and stopped justice from touching the Chief Prosecutor’s son.
 He had tears in his eyes when Soo Ji’s daughter died in the hospital. But that didn’t stop him from ingratiating himself with the Chief Prosecutor. Do Han has his own axe to grind with the Chief Prosecutor who falsely accused and prosecuted his father for espionage. I am assuming Do Han did the wrong thing to Soo Ji to further his goal of revenge against the Chief Prosecutor. It seems like he had a golden opportunity for payback. Do Han’s father was prosecuted by the Chief Prosecutor. Wouldn’t it have been poetic justice if Do Han had prosecuted and convicted the Chief Prosecutor’s son? His plan and what happens next will be revealed soon. I’m assuming Do Han joins the justice team too (or he is the mystery leader). We shall see. I will see because I’m riveted.


* We know little about the justice team.
 Who doesn’t like the idea of team that delivers justice when the system has failed? Is that what this team will do?

* New writer Kim Soo Eun delivered an episode that was gripping from start to finish. The first two episodes laid the ground work for our Soo Ji to join the justice team. I’m not sure Do Han is ready yet.

* Ranking the episodes (on a scale from 1-10) had me rank episode 2 as excellent.  My episode ranking chart is below.

Asian drama fan

Tagged with: ,
Posted in Lookout
6 comments on “Lookout – Episode 2
  1. Beez says:

    Heartbreaking frustration.

    “It seems like he had a golden opportunity for payback…” kjt

    While I find him totally slimy and beyond irksome – I could see him feeling like prosecuting his villain’s son is not enough (even though said son deserves to be thrown under the jail and then left alone in a room with Su ji) for his revenge. Especially since it could possibly leave the villain in office of he disavows and disowns his son.

    It is so hard for me to see what I found attractive about the actor playing Do han in Go Ho’s Starry Night. I suppose that means he’s a good actor. 🙂

    I am holding back until you catch up. But I didn’t pay any attention to the posters or teasers so some things really surprised me as they are revealed which you probably already realize.

    BTW, for anyone else that’s looking for this show – I think I said DramaFever did not have this show, but they do. It doesn’t show up if you search “Look” or “Look Out”. You have to search exactly “Lookout”.

    • While I find him totally slimy and beyond irksome – I could see him feeling like prosecuting his villain’s son is not enough (even though said son deserves to be thrown under the jail and then left alone in a room with Su ji) for his revenge. Especially since it could possibly leave the villain in office of he disavows and disowns his son.
      I can accept that logic.

      I am holding back until you catch up.
      I’ll get there. Stick with me while I do.

      DramaFever did not have this show, but they do. It doesn’t show up if you search “Look” or “Look Out”. You have to search exactly “Lookout”.
      Yes, I saw that and was pleased to see it and I’m watching on DramaFever. Thanks!

  2. Kay says:

    I can’t wait to start this drama! It looks tense with great characters. I really enjoyed reading your thoughts on it 🙂

  3. Jane Tilly says:

    These were an AWESOME episodes‼. I can’t even 💭 imagine the rage Soo Jin must have felt as 🐛👦 mouthed his confession and grinned, no wonder she took a shot 🔫 at that 💩 excuse for a human being‼

    Prosecutor Jang Do Han is a living, breathing oxymoron. I can’t quite figure him out…just when I was sure he was thwarting justice ⚖, he seems to be a vigilante and then vice versa…

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Posts
June 2017
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  
Copyright
© kjtamusings.wordpress.com, 2014-2017, All Rights Reserved. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without expressed and written permission from this site’s author is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to kjtamusings.wordpress.com with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
