Lookout – Episode 1

My Thoughts — Lookout — Episode 1 (split episodes 1-2)

At the end of my recaps I have a “My Thoughts” section where I summarize my opinions. I just finished episode 1 of Lookout.  This show has grabbed my attention. Shout out to Beez for recommending I check out this series. Lookout’s episodes are split into two. Per Han Cinema…MBC’s latest Monday/Tuesday drama “Lookout” is a 32 episode run, but don’t let that number fool you. It is a part of a new test split that both MBC and SBS are trying.

My Thoughts

* The opening scene grabbed me. Good music, good chase scene, ending with a daring move by our hero – a woman! Love it!

* Strong women always interest me. Let’s face it, kdramas are heavily populated by sweet bubbly women who focus on getting the guy. I like many of these dramas. But when a drama offers a strong female character, my enjoyment increases.

* Detective Jo Soo Ji (Lee Si Young) loves being a cop. She’s hardworking and struggles to balance being a mother to a young daughter with the work she relishes. Sound like real life? Yep, it does. Soo Ji is a bit mouthy, direct, and fearless. She’s my new hero. The last kdrama I saw Lee Si Young was Boys Over Flower (the first kdrama I watched).

* Team Lead Lee Soon Ae (Kim Sun Young) is my kind of boss. She’s bit mouthy, direct, and no nonsense. She supports Soo Ji’s struggle to balance work and motherhood because she has the same struggle. Her daughter looks to be in high school.

* Prosecutor Jang Do Han (Kim Young Kwang) is arrogant, manipulative, and a blast to watch. I have a soft spot in my hard for Young Kwang who was terrific in Pinocchio and Good Doctor. I had hoped to see him in a lead role. My wish has been granted.

* The rest of the characters and cast are solid. Though we’ve only scratched the surface of the story and these characters, I look forward to getting to know all of them.

* New writer Kim Soo Eun delivered a script with witty, wry, dialog that was tight and balanced. I have no complaints only praise for the opening episodes of this series. Writer Kim drew me into Lookout immediately. I look forward to this 16 episode series (episodes are split).  I think this show will be a fun ride.

* Ranking the episodes (on a scale from 1-10) had me rank episode 1 and 2 as very good.  My episode ranking chart is below.

* The first song of the OST, “Amen” by Damiano featuring. Jun Ji Yoon is a good one:

Asian drama fan

Tagged with: ,
Posted in Lookout
4 comments on “Lookout – Episode 1
  1. Beez says:

    So glad you’ll be thought -capping this one!

    I’ve gotten as far as Ep 8 and I love all the characters (even the ones I can’t stand) lol

    I love that although our lead cop is badazz, and jumps out of windows, she’s normal badazz. She does not “stick” a super hero-type squat-on-one-knee-with-opposite-leg extended landing (even though those are cool), nor does she drop and roll, smoothly coming up on her feet in one fluid movement. She lands the way real people land out of a 2nd story drop – like it hurts – but she keeps going.

    Love her Team Leader partner. Totally surprised by how well their buddy cop works on screen and even more surprised that a Kdrama thought to give her a female mentor who’s also not stuck behind a desk but has a role we’d typically see men fill.

    The first couple of episodes are hard to get through emotionally, but once you’re past the emotionally draining set up, the capers and exciting stuff begins.

    Sooo very glad I get to hear your thoughts on this one.

    At first I hated these 30 minute episodes, but they’re kind of making it easier to squeeze in an episode (halfsie) aren’t they?

    • As you can see Lookout I’ve decided to ignore the split episodes and “Thought Cap” (love the term) a single episode. I made the choice to recap each split episode of Suspicious Partners which is a good and bad.

      I love that although our lead cop is badazz, and jumps out of windows,…She lands the way real people land out of a 2nd story drop – like it hurts – but she keeps going
      Excellent observation. I love strong female characters, and they don’t need to be perfect.

      Love her Team Leader partner.
      I love that they both talk about Mom stuff versus guy stuff.

      Sooo very glad I get to hear your thoughts on this one.
      Thank you for the recommendation. After Voice and Tunnel, I think I’m digging the “get justice” genre more and more.

    • Jane Tilly says:

      Just finished the first episode and I am confused, but intrigued. I can’t wait to get to know our characters; will I really get to ❤ prosecutor Jang⁉. I’m not feeling it yet…

      I do like detective Jo, like KJT, I ❤ strong female leads. I ❤ the dynamic between her and her boss. Here we go into another 30 minute Episode series‼

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Posts
June 2017
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  
Copyright
© kjtamusings.wordpress.com, 2014-2017, All Rights Reserved. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without expressed and written permission from this site’s author is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to kjtamusings.wordpress.com with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
