My Secret Romance – Episodes 10 – 11

My Thoughts — My Secret Romance — Episodes 10-11

At the end of my recaps I have a “My Thoughts” section where I summarize my opinions. I just finished episodes 10-11 of My Secret Romance.  This show continues to be my guilty pleasure.

My Thoughts


* The question of Dong Goo’s mother was resolved with little fanfare.  
Jin Wook’s father tried to pinch a hair from the child and was accosted by Yoo Min’s mother. She indignantly spurned his repeated attempted to touch her child and declared she was the mother. I expected a more of a reaction from mother and daughter that Jin Wook and his father thought the child birthed by Yoo Min. That scene was almost anticlimactic for a plot point that had been built up for 2 episodes, it was quickly dispensed.

* I was a bit bored these two episodes. When the main couple separates, then scenes are about their sadness at being separated, trying to rebuild their lives though sad, etc. Frankly those scenes didn’t grab me. I’m ready for these two to move past it. Their separation discussion in the car didn’t have much emotional impact except Jin Wook watching his worst nightmare come true, another woman he loves, leaves him.

* Cha Jin Wook (Sung Hoon) feared driving Yoo Min away like his mother left him at a young age. He let himself be scared by Assistant Jang’s warning not to let Yoo Min be a repeat performance of his mother. That irked me. Jin Wook had NOTHING to do with his mother leaving the household. She left his father and I’m guessing he strong armed her into leaving Jin Wook with him. I understand that he feels guilt but I would have thought that faithful Assistant Jang wouldn’t have made an analogy that would scare Jin Wook into inaction. Jin Wook’s father’s warning that Yoo Min couldn’t be happy forever and would leave him, was understandable because it happened to him and he assumed history will repeat itself with his son. All that boils down to Jin Wook acting out of the norm. I accept his fear of losing another women he loves, but it hamstrung him into a passive state. One of the pluses of Jin Wook is his candor. He was muzzled these two episodes. I didn’t like it. We did get one “swoop-a-licious” kiss.


* Lee Yoo Mi (Song Ji Eun) suffered through multiple rounds of gossip.
 She had round one at the company and round two at her new work location, the school. I felt bad for her, as she was a victim in a gossip obsessed society. It must have reminded her of having to endure the gossip about her mother in high school. All that being said, she ran and hid but found her hiding place wasn’t supportive and even worse. I continue to notice her limited intelligence. Can I give her a complete pass believing that everything she had with Jin Wook was because he thought he might be the father? No, I can’t. 99% of their relationship had nothing to do with his belief the child was his.

* Writer Kim provided our couple a standard break up. I feel like I got cheated out of 2 episodes of this series that could have been fun but instead were not.

* Support characters:


** Jang Woo Jin (Park Shin Woon) gave Jin Wook bad advice then reversed himself.
 He initially told Jin Wook to stay away from Yoo Jin to not scare her away like his mother. That was irksome and bad advice. At the end of the episode, he tells Jin Wook to be true to himself and go get the girl. I wish he would have taken that stance initially.

** Jung Hyun Tae (Kim Jae Young) admitted he likes Yoo Mi but was clear he’d missed his opportunity. I like this character. He’s honorable, nice, and cute. He’s kind to Yoo Min, who deserves it. Will he get involved with Hye Ri? It looks like the writer may be heading that way.

** Wanna be girlfriend Joo Hye Ri got herself together enough to accept Jin Wook’s decision not to date her. Instead of ignoring his clear communication that there would not be romance, this time she felt the pain, processed it, and came out on the other side willing to support Jin Wook without expectation of romance. I still don’t like this character much, but she did evolve in these two episodes.
** Yoo Min’s mother overshared on TV creating an embarrassing situation for her daughter. Not cool.
* Ranking the episodes (on a scale from 1-6) had me rank episodes 10-11 as fair.  My episode ranking chart is below.

Asian drama fan

Tagged with: ,
Posted in My Secret Romance
9 comments on “My Secret Romance – Episodes 10 – 11
  1. Beez says:

    I agree auth kjtamuser about these episodes.

    One thing I’m frustrated about is it makes zero sense that Jin Wook, after supposedly couldn’t date until he found the one that got away, to leave her hanging when she said “Was I happy all by myself?” And then didn’t call or text her? Chants to self “it’s a manga- it’s a manga- it’s a manga- it’s a manga- Mangas are written by 13-year old S. Koream girls.” (Even if that’s not true, it gets me thru nonsensical Kdramas based on mangas.

    That whole scene could’ve worked, however, if only the characters had been standing in the reverse position. When Jin Wook sees his dad have that momentary lapse and it looks like he grows faint, THEN it would make sense that Jin Wook didn’t respond right them. But the way it was shot, Jin Wook said nothing but then turned around and saw his dad’s little faint spell. But even then, since Jin Wook did not run after dad but accepted his answer that he was fine, then why no response at the moment, or call later on?

    ‘Cause

    *chanting*

    it’s a manga- it’s a manga- it’s a manga-

    • Glad to know I wasn’t alone. Truly a disappointment after last week’s excellent episode 8.

      Did you know next week is the last week of this drama? Only 13 episodes in this one. Color me surprised.

      • Beez says:

        What!? I didn’t know. While this show has been fluff fare, I hope it proves to The Drama Powers That Be that people want to see Sung Hoon so that he can get meatier roles (even if it’s just a legit, well written rom-com). DramaFever realized it and cast him and banked on his looks & popularity cause Lord knows they put no money into production.

        I’ve been impressed with his acting in all of his projects when you consider that most actors know from a young age that they want to act so begin training young. But Mr. Swooney was around 28 and won Best Newcomer Award in his very first role which was the lead role, by the way.

        I want to see him im something with the quality of Oh My Ghostess, or Mermaid or Jealousy Incarnate. Something with really witty dialogue.

      • I hope it proves to The Drama Powers That Be that people want to see Sung Hoon so that he can get meatier roles (even if it’s just a legit, well written rom-com). DramaFever realized it and cast him and banked on his looks & popularity cause Lord knows they put no money into production.
        Perfectly put. This role proves he can carry a series, because Sung Hoon has carried this series. He is the standout character. He’s the reason to watch.

        Mr. Swooney was around 28 and won Best Newcomer Award in his very first role which was the lead role, by the way. I want to see him him something with the quality of Oh My Ghostess, or Mermaid or Jealousy Incarnate. Something with really witty dialogue
        Newcomer awards are impressive. I’m on board with more opportunities for “swoop-a-lious” to grace the kdrama world.

      • Beez says:

        “Swoop-a-Licious”. 😀💙😄

        Sung Swoop
        Swoop-dog
        Mr. Swoopy

      • LOL, I should do a favorite nickname poll!

      • Beez says:

        I like that idea. But I’m very entrenched aa seeing him as Sung Swoon, the knee buckler. lol

  2. Jane Tilly says:

    While I enjoyed erotic mom protecting her Dong Goo, I agree resolving the paternity issue was 🐜i-climatic. You would think Yoo Mi would have had something to say to Jin Wook about the miscommunication.

    After all our OTP have been through, it was disappointing 😞 Jin Wook didn’t respond to Yoo Mi’s “Was I happy all by myself?”. I found myself repeating Beez’s Manga chant about bit Jin Wook and Yoo Mi’s nonsensical behavior. 말도 안돼‼

    I like Hyun Tae and do NOT want him saddled 🏇 with Hye Ri‼ I still think Hye Ri should end up with Jin Wook’s dad. 👴

    Hye Ri’s public 📺 breakdown started the rumor mill at Daebok and Jin Wook’s preferential treatment of Yoo Mi only added fuel to the 🔥. I find it curious 🕵 that while Yoo Mi requested a transfer (for her internship?) and yet her mom announced she was “fired”.

    XXX mom has no filter or consideration for her children. Can you imagine how much she will 👽-ate a teenage Dong Goo⁉ Even after Yoo Mi has repeatedly let her mother know she has suffered public embarrassment due to XXX mom’s antics and lack of decorum, it is incredibly unbelievable​, XXX mom, would not only air the paternity miscommunication and Yoo Mi’s relationship dirty laundry, mom i even IDENTIFIED the chaebol and her daughter’s name‼. I would be inclined to disown this 💩-ty excuse of a parent. XXX mom went WAY PAST any line in the sand.

    I can hardly believe there are only 2⃣ more episodes‼ We NEED more “swoop-a-licious” 💋 kisses 😘

    • After all our OTP have been through, it was disappointing 😞 Jin Wook didn’t respond to Yoo Mi’s “Was I happy all by myself?”
      That was out of character. Jin Wook has been intensely interested in every reaction from Yoo Mi but he didn’t discern what she was really saying this time. Silly breakup. Waste of time.

      I like Hyun Tae and do NOT want him saddled 🏇 with Hye Ri
      Those two had a better storyline than the main couple in the last two episodes.

      XXX mom went WAY PAST any line in the sand.
      She has no filter and it’s all about her. When will we learn more about Jin Wook’s mother?

      We NEED more “swoop-a-licious” 💋 kisses 😘
      Concur. I hope they make up quickly in the next episode and pepper the remaining moments with fun flirty swooping kisses.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Posts
May 2017
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  
Copyright
© kjtamusings.wordpress.com, 2014-2017, All Rights Reserved. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without expressed and written permission from this site’s author is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to kjtamusings.wordpress.com with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
