My Secret Romance – Episode 9

My Thoughts — My Secret Romance — Episode 9

At the end of my recaps I have a “My Thoughts” section where I summarize my opinions. I just finished episode 9 of My Secret Romance.  This show continues to be my guilty pleasure.

My Thoughts


* The question of Dong Goo’s father loomed.
 I loved that Jin Wook was willing to try and be a parent for Yoo Mi. She was nonplussed when Dong Goo joined their date making her a third wheel. That clarifies that Dong Goo is NOT our OTP’s love child. But Jin Wook’s father believes it and Jin Wook thinks it’s probably true. How long until this misunderstanding is resolved?


* Cha Jin Wook (Sung Hoon) is thoughtful and open with his feelings.
He is a leading man that draws you to him with a wonderful mix of caring and willingness to say what he thinks. This kdrama’s leading man is scoring with me. I’m not sure I can effectively convey my pleasure that Jin Wook is a different version of the cookie-cutter leading man. Writer Kim has embodied Jin Wook with variations that resonate. He was forthright that he was devastated after she disappeared after their initial encounter. In turn, she admitted she hadn’t forgotten him either. Watching him care for his cat and kitten was lovely. Knowing that the blanket he lined the box with was a precious memory of his mother made it almost poignant. Watching him enjoy (not endure) time with Dong Goo was a pleasure. When he told his Assistant Jang he was be willing to give parenting a try for Yoo Min, he had my heart. Sung Hoon’s portrayal Jin Wook is playful and earnest. I like his hair styled swept back or on the forehead. And you can’t help but notice, Sung Hoon has a rocking body.


* Lee Yoo Mi (Song Ji Eun) doesn’t understand why Jin Wook is including Dong Goo on their dates.
 She isn’t the brightest bulb in the bunch or she’d have an inkling why Dong Goo was there.  Even so, she’s willing to make a go of it with Jin Wook. She’s more understated about her feelings. But she got a sweet office courtesy of Jin Wook!

* The production continues to embraces fun.  I love the way this show does the texting between our couple. Adding a popup video of the character saying the text and seeing the text, makes their exchange all the more fun because you see their faces and hear the inflections.


* Writer Kim gave our couple plenty of screen time
.
 This Writer Kim’s first kdrama (per Asianwiki). I like the charm that our couple has. Their innate sweetness and kindness toward each other comes from Writer Kim.

* Support characters:

** Jang Woo Jin (Park Shin Woon) was miffed to learn that the child might be Jin Wook’s. He was unhappy because Jin Wook didn’t tell him immediately. He doesn’t like being the last to know.
** Jung Hyun Tae (Kim Jae Young) stopped Jin Wook’s wanna be girlfriend Joo Hye Ri from interrupting our couple. He is being a supportive friend. He deserves better than Hye Ri who went down in my estimation this episode.
** Wanna be girlfriend Joo Hye Ri came across as a typical jealous second lead willing to cause trouble for our couple. Joo Hye Ri does not know the real Jin Wook, she only loves the idea she has of who he is. She’s self centered. What about this character has any merit?
* Ranking the episodes (on a scale from 1-6) had me rank episode 9 as good.  My episode ranking chart is below.

Asian drama fan

Tagged with: ,
Posted in My Secret Romance
16 comments on “My Secret Romance – Episode 9
  1. Jane Tilly says:

    What is it about hunky man playing with kids 🐒🙊🐒⁉ It wrecks havoc with my ovaries 🎊. Is Yoo Mi really that clueless 🕵 after Jin Wook bared his feelings? Jin Wook just wanted to know if Dong Goo is his son. Yoo Mi’s cluelessness confirms to me that she is not likely Dong Goo’s mom. The paternity/maternity ❓ is still hanging.

    I 💗 that Yoo Mi FINALLY spilled her true feelings to Jin Wook. Hyun Tae was a really great guy; stopping Hye Ri from barging in after Yoo Mi confessed her feelings to Jin Wook.

    I feel bad for Hyun Tae; he is watching the woman he 💗, being in love with someone else. He is handling his sadness and jealousy sooo much better than Hye Ri. I hope this writer is not going to punish Hyun Tae by saddling 🏇 him with Hye Ri.

  2. What is it about hunky man playing with kids 🐒🙊🐒⁉ It wrecks havoc with my ovaries 🎊.
    So true, JT, so true. I remember you wisely observing the same thing with Lee Min Ho in Legend of the Blue Sea.

    Yoo Mi’s cluelessness confirms to me that she is not likely Dong Goo’s mom.
    Concur. Her inability of see the obvious makes her much more of a cookie cutter leading lady.

    I 💗 that Yoo Mi FINALLY spilled her true feelings to Jin Wook
    I like this leading man. He’s more forthright than most.

    I feel bad for Hyun Tae; he is watching the woman he 💗, being in love with someone else. He is handling his sadness and jealousy sooo much better than Hye Ri. I hope this writer is not going to punish Hyun Tae by saddling 🏇 him with Hye Ri.
    Ditto.

  3. Beez says:

    So I’m going along, minding my own business, trying to check my Facebook account and bam! This hits me in the face and I’m swooning. I don’t even HAVE an instagram account.
    https://www.instagram.com/p/BUQ8pPhAADj/

    And the bad thing is, I don’t think he’s doing it on purpose and yet I’m *kerplunk*

    • Sung Hoon has a nice body, no ifs, ands, or buts!

      • Beez says:

        Despite fan girling all over the place, I find his body a bit odd. Kind of like So ji sub so maybe it’s a swimmer’s body? Both of their rib cages stick out strangely. (Still very attractive bodies though.) But in the Instagram that I posted, it’s something about the way he’s pulling his hair back from his face so naturally without posing.

        • I noticed in the latest episode from the back in a well fit suit he has an hourglass figure compared to Assistant Jang whose figure was verticle. Concur on the swim slick back hair images.

  4. Beez says:

    Sorry kjt, I just copied the link. Now when I WANT an image yo appear on your blog…I can’t figure out how to do it. smh

  5. Beez says:

    I swear I did big posts the exact same way – just pasted the links.

    • Jane Tilly says:

      Oh Beez, you have been dishing out Sung Swoon 👁🍬 and 👂🍬 **SWOONS​**

      • Beez says:

        @JT He’s IN MY FACE! What’s a girl to do? 😁

        I swear, you hit like on one FB post…

      • Beez says:

        You know, they settled the paternity of Dong goo pretty quick. It makes you wonder why they would bother to write a pregnancy for Yoo mi’s mom just to have a 1 episode story line about it. That lady is enough of a pill with her exotic film past. Part of me admires that she’s not ashamed (AT ALL) considering Korean society and scandals, but she needs to realize she’s got kids AND that nobody wants her on tv or film anymore and to go take a backseat.

        • The fact that her actions affect her children and either she isn’t aware or doesn’t care is my issue. I don’t mind her moxy.

          • Beez says:

            @kjt – I’m sure that old broad is aware because everything about Yoo mi says I’m repressed because I don’t want to be perceived as anything like my mom. That’s why Ji Wook was telling her she could wear more relaxed clothing and undo a button or two.

            That Ahjumma knows cause we’ve even seen Yoo mi admonish her. She just don’t care abut anything other than being the center of attention and trying to get her career going again but she knows she’s too old for the side of the business she was in before so she keeps going down to the tv station, even sitting in the audience just to be on tv. *so disgusting*

          • Excellent points Beez. Not much to admire about her mothering.

    • The microphone 🎤 covered his handsome face. Decent voice for a straightforward song.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Posts
May 2017
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  
Copyright
© kjtamusings.wordpress.com, 2014-2017, All Rights Reserved. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without expressed and written permission from this site’s author is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to kjtamusings.wordpress.com with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
