Would I Date Him? Voice

This time on Would I Date Him? I reflect upon the leading man, Jin Hyuk (Jang Hyuk), in the series Voice. I am a Jang Hyuk fan. He was the reason I watched this series.

Our candidate: Jin Hyuk portrayed by Jang Hyuk from the series Voice.

Background. Jin Hyuk is an intense police detective. His wife was brutally murdered three years ago. Since his wife’s murder, he’s lived a half-life mired in anger and grief, fueled by the need to find the murderer and extract revenge. During the course of Voice the murderer is found and brought to justice. Jin Hyuk releases the need for vengeance. Jin Hyuk is now free to move on with his life.


His pluses:
* Subjective – Passionate,  smart
* Absolute – Super fit body with lighting hands, cares for his son, intense


His minuses:

* Absolute – Work-centric, yells a bit, work is a bit of a downer as his co-workers and management chain are subpar, limited interactions with his son
* Subjective – bull headed

Is he my next date? I’m embarrassed to admit this but I spent time pondering whether I’d date Jin Hyuk or not. In the end, while I’m glad he’s able to move on, I’m not sure he’s ready to date. I’d rather he reestablish himself as an active father, and a police detective who is able to balance family and work time, before he try and date anyone, including me.👎

Asian drama fan

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in Articles, Date Him?
44 comments on “Would I Date Him? Voice
  1. Beez says:

    I wouldn’t want to date this guy either knowing what we know about him. He was a somewhat typical guy who loved his wife but, whenever he wasn’t at work, was a couch husband. Sadly, I wouldn’t be privy to that information so probably would fall for him (he’s in Jang Hyukxs body) and then grow to hate him. lol

  2. Jane Tilly says:

    Color 🖍 me surprised that such loyal Jang Hyuk fans are declining the dating possibility. I agree with KJT he needs to spend ⏰ focusing on his son. I also recognize the truth of Beez calling him a 🛋 husband.

    Jin Hyuk’s 🌡 temper 😠 could be an issue. I would like to think Jung Hyuk learned his lesson from his regrets of being a 💩husband. Despite​ those drawbacks, I would date Jin Hyuk. Getting into a serious relationship may be difficult. IF Jin Hyuk could balance ⚖ his life and became an active father and husband, I would consider marriage 💒.

    • IF Jin Hyuk could balance ⚖ his life and became an active father and husband
      That’s the crux of it, balance between work and personal. I’ve heard that balance described as an elusive ideal or a complete myth.

    • Beez says:

      Jane Tilly! We gotta clear up your deep rose-colored Hyuk tainted glasses!

      She’s got little shirtless Jang Hyuk’s (with pursed lips) clinging to them like windshield wipers! lolololol

      I admit it wasn’t easy to objectively separate my Hyuk love from evaluating the character as dating material though.

      • Jane Tilly says:

        Beez, hmm 💭… shirtless Jang Hyuk 💭… now what were you were saying?

        You got me a little distracted…🍃

        You are right about it being difficult to objectively separate Jang Hyuk 💖 from Jin Hyuk, the “Would I Date Him” character.

        You can call it wearing 🌹-colored 👓 or being optimistic, my preferred term. I don’t have my head in the sand , ignoring Jin Hyuk’s 💩 behavior in his marriage. I believe people can learn from their mistakes. I would want to see 🕵 evidence of improved behavior before becoming serious. In order gather evidence wouldn’t you need to date?

        So by now you are either saying to yourself: “JT is being logically optimistic” or “JT, JT, my sweet naive JT…”. Either way you might be right.

        In the meantime… shirtless Jang Hyuk 💭…pursed 💋 💭…mmm…

      • Beez says:

        @JT – nope. I actually fully understand. It was hard to turn down a date with Jin Hyuk.

        Just imagine he could take me to the gym to spar which, after showing me how fast his hands can work the bag, grappling and taking it down to the mat (where he can continue to work on THIS old bag…) *sigh*

      • LOL!! The way you put things Beez…love it! 😂

      • Beez says:

        I made myself breathe hard with that comment, thinking about grappling with Jang Hyuk!

      • JT…I hate to interrupt your revelry😳…

      • Jane Tilly says:

        Beez, you do have a way with words!!! 😅

      • Beez says:

        The Hyukster brings that out of me! 🙂

  3. Holly Moon says:

    I don’t care what you all think– just know I will be dating him.

    Ha Ha Ha

  4. Holly Moon says:

    For update– Blind Swordsman (still is working title) start time has been delayed till mid-June. Not sure why, but might be because there still has not been an actress for the princess role signed, that I know of.
    Hyuk, however, has been hard at work practicing action routines, that is until he cracked a small bone in his wrist. But it seems to be healing up fine, and he is doing some one-handed boxing for exercise.
    I would think we will soon know about actress. Anyway I hope so. And meanwhile, I will just have to keep dating Jin Hyuk, at least for the short term, until his new character is revealed. And @Beez– I bet you will grab him up when dating him becomes an option. Even if we find out he is a couch swordsman.

    • Beez says:

      @Holly Moon – yes, I talk a his game but I’m hopeless. What’s a girl to do when he’s walking around throwing his Hyuk-pheromones all casually will-nilly everywhere?

      And thanks so much for keeping its updated.

    • Appreciate the update Holly Moon!

      • Holly Moon says:

        One more new item is that he has done another cameo for his dragon buddy Cha Tae Hyun. No other particulars on it yet. He is always willing to be there for his friend.
        Have you seen his last cameo in Because I Love You ?

      • Beez says:

        I admit I only watched his part and didn’t finish the movie.

      • Jane Tilly says:

        I don’t think the problem is emoji utilization, but availability. You got the emoji fever 🤒; the pharmacy 💊 just isn’t well stocked. That nose 👃 emoji is hard to distinguish on a handheld device 📱, which is 🆖 or stinks 🐽♨ (I’m curious about what the snout and steam look like). Sometimes is is a crap 🎲🎲 shoot!

      • You are the emoji queen! And I agree the nose isn’t intuitive at a glance.

  5. Holly Moon says:

    Sorry for double entry here but the name of drama the cameo is in is The Best Hit.

  6. Drama Fan says:

    I wouldn’t. He screamed too much and was clearly still in love with the memory of his wife. I never felt “attracted” to this character as a man either. Hi everyone! 🙂

    • Beez says:

      Wow! DF! People can always surprise you. I thought for sure I knew how you would answer. I thought you and Holly Moon would be fighting over him. I see you were able to separate the character from the actor. Me too! lol Although, if I were the type of girl that could handle a one night stand…

      • Drama Fan says:

        @Beez Lol yeah. I can always separate those. It’s an interesting ability I have. But my perspective get more clear after the show ends. In retrospect I didn’t love Voice too much or its main characters. I kinda loved our interactions more than the drama. But I’m very much over Voice and its not one I would rewatch.

      • Beez says:

        I agree. Of course, Hyukie had moments here and there (that death stare) *sigh* and also the flying fists – but other than that…

        I should look for Youtube clips of him fighting in the Voice.

      • Drama Fan says:

        @Beez He did have moments as usual. I guess I just felt that those characters were “incomplete”. I managed to feel sorry for them on a superficial level but nothing too deep. We didn’t really get to “know” them, I feel. So I could detach myself easily after it ended as opposed to say I dunno, Chuno’s characters…(see what I did there Beez? See what I did? :D)

      • Beez says:

        I do see, DF. But you knoooow we’re not ever supposed to say “Chuno”, because if we say “Chuno”, then we are being ever so rude in hijacking the blog for a different subject such as Chuno. We must never, ever say “Chuno” in kjtamuser’s blog again; that is, until she actually starts a post dedicated to Chuno. Until then we’ll be polite guests who lay off bringing up Chuno at every possible opportunity. 😉 *adamant head shaking*

      • I don’t judge Chuno addicts. I understand why it is a touchstone drama. It was my “first” Jang Hyuk experience and one that made me a lifetime fan.

      • I kinda loved our interactions more than the drama.
        Yep, the comments sections made the show much more enjoyable than watching Voice solo.

    • Hey DF! He did yell quite a bit, which doesn’t amp up ardor. His need to reestablish himself as an active father should be his priority.

  7. Drama Fan says:

    Btw Hyuk fans! I recommend his latest movie Ordinary Person, it’s actually a good movie. Bye for now 🙂

    • Beez says:

      Thanks for the reminder, DramaFan. My list of stuff I plan to watch was, unfortunately, in my old phone and so my list of stuff to watch is gone. *sob* My entire Kdrama life is gone with that phone. All of the links to blogs and streaming sites and Korean cultural stuff that I saved is all gone. 😦

      The bad thing is, I store everything on my Cloud except that one app. I got the notes app so long ago and it used to back up from the SIM card. But as time went on, I never noticed (cause I never read them) the details of the updates. Apparently, there was a new option to create a Cloud account. Sadly, I never did.

      Anyway, I’m adding this new movie to my stuff to watch list.

      • Drama Fan says:

        @Beez Awww that sucks 😦 I liked this movie a lot. It was very moving with its tragically “human” characters. If you do watch it, come to my blog and tell me what you think. JH is not the guy to love in this movie btw. He is a heartless bastard. But he does a good job and I’m glad he was part of this movie.

      • Beez says:

        Unfortunately, I’m attracted to “heartless bastards” (even in real life. I keep trying to force myself to like nice guys but…) I loved him in Robbers and his role (which wasn’t big enough and I still haven’t seen it with good subs) in Empire of Lust/Age of Innocence. I have no idea how both those titles apply to the same film. But he was just beau-ti-ful with the earings and the top knot.

    • I’ll check it out. Thanks for the recommendation.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Posts
May 2017
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  
Copyright
© kjtamusings.wordpress.com, 2014-2017, All Rights Reserved. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without expressed and written permission from this site’s author is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to kjtamusings.wordpress.com with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
