K2 Review – Jane Tilly – Guest Review

The comment sections for the K2 recaps were full of insightful thoughts and opinions. From the start, Jane Tilly saw positives and negatives of this series. When I asked if she’d be interested in writing a guest review, she agreed, though unforeseen circumstances delayed the review. Jane Tilly, take it away…

K2 Review

First of all, I appreciate the opportunity to be a guest commentator!  I have been following KJT’s amusings for just over a year and have enjoyed the comradery we all share watching Korean Drama.  I apologize for the belated nature of my commentary; my laptop crashed and burned in November and due to extenuating circumstances of an increased workload due to 2 coworkers dramatic exits with no replacements *SIGHS WITH A HINT OF RESENTMENT*, I have only recently had time to recover some files.

What did I like best about K2?

*Ji Chang Wook as Je Ha. Je Ha’s swept back ‘do and countable abs made him absolutely irresistible – RESISTANCE IS FUTILE!  Je Ha was a protagonist knight in shining armor with equipped with Special Forces skills and a bone to pick with those responsible for murdering his fiancée in Iraq.  The pièce de résistance was his soft spot for the innocent.  Je Ha reluctantly joined forces with Yoo Jin to gain access to her resources as a means to exact his revenge.  Oh…did I mention we had many opportunities to check out Ji Chang Wook’s fine physique and fighting skills throughout this series!


* Song Yoon Ah as Yoo Jin.
Yoo Jin was one multifaceted mama—ranging from a wounded and pitiful victim to a psychotic, cold-hearted and evil witch, spelled with a capital “B”. Just when you start to feel sorry for Yoo Jin, you had to recall she has no compunction about killing innocents—she was an “ends justifies the means” kind of character.  This fascinating character had us rooting for her one minute and then wanting her to be punished for her evil deeds in the next minute.

Kuddos to Song Yoon Ah for her portrayal of Yoo Jin that gained a loyal following among Korean ahjummas, much to the chagrin of the writers.  Despite Yoo Jin’s amoral tendencies, I appreciate a strong female lead, who goes after what she wants, even if it was Je Ha.  Is there an ahjumma out there who wouldn’t kick into cougar mode after being rescued from a burning car and carried away wrapped in Je Ha’s muscular arms while being pressed up against that rockin’ body!  Whew, I need ice water!  *FANNING MYSELF*

* Thrilling car chase and actions scenes. I thought the car chase in episode 3 was the most exhilarating car chase I’ve seen in any drama.  KJT likened their crashing into cars and other obstacles like to a pinball game. There were so many awesome fight scenes—with JSS at the warehouse, the assassin at the orchard couple’s house, the assault captain at the safe house and of course a special mention to the nude fight scene—I read the network got fined by a government agency for that one.
* Great side characters added a savory flavor to the story. Master Song’s comedic relief lightened the mood and Team Leader So and Col. Jo supporting Je Ha warmed our hearts.
* I ❤ the ice/ding hand signals between Je Ha and Anna. These hand signals were introduced half-way through the series and were effectively used intermittently through the remaining episodes.
* The writer’s excelled at producing antagonists. Yoo Jin, her half-brother Jung Won, slimy politicians Jang and Park, and Chief Kim.
* Justice prevailed! At least for the major protagonists: Yoo Jin, Assemblyman Jang, Assemblyman Park and Jung Won.   Others who were not punished for their evil deeds were Chief Kim, Jung Won’s mother and father-in-law and the other members of the Smoking Consortium.
* Redemption of Yoo Jin and Se Joon. These morally bankrupt characters had a final scene that was beyond my expectations. Their interaction buried the animosity between them, gave them honor and allowed them to die in peace.  I was touched by Se Joon’s genuine words to Yoo Jin “Won’t you be my companion on the road to the underworld?” Se Joon knew where they were headed…
* The OST. Who knew choral music could be so compelling as a score?

What did I like the least about K2?


*Incongruous Subway product placement. 1) As Je Ha fought for his life on the operating table, he shared a dream with Anna which had them standing in the line at Subway.  Who dreams of standing in a line, especially in a life threatening situation?  You might think about your loved ones, but not where you ate.  2) Our lovebirds finally reunited and were headed out of Dodge, okay…Seoul…but wait…let’s stop at Subway, have a picnic, and comment on how tasty the sandwiches are…seriously?!?  Admittedly I only go to Subway a couple times a month, but it has been 4 months and I have not been back yet.  These tacky product placements were too blatant and inappropriately timed.
*Master Song made into a murderer. How could the writers make our “sweet curmudgeonly, just-want-to-wrap-him-up-in-a-hug Master Song” (as described by Beez), into a murderer?  They should have laid the death of Anna’s mother at Yoo Jin’s feet as she already had blood on her hands.  no, nO, NO, NOT our Master Song!!!
* Meaningful moments milked for more than they were worth. The PD beat to death several potentially sweet scenes (the ramen dance, beach frolic, and blanket kiss) until the sweetness was long gone and you simply wanted the scene to end, or enjoy a Subway product placement. Overkill was this PD’s trademark.
* Tedious romance. Anna experienced PTSD from her mother’s murder and being cloistered in her formative years as she was held hostage for 10+ years by the Evil Queen (Yoo Jin).  Anna was emotionally scarred, socially dysfunctional and a lived a zombie-like existence for the first 5-6 episodes.  I did find Anna to be very likeable until halfway through the series she started to use her brain.  Anna was pitiable and foolish to take on Yoo Jin without consideration of the consequences.  I think I would have preferred to have the part of Anna played by a child, which I read somewhere was the original intent, or to have no romance at all. This scarred young woman was not ready for a romantic relationship.
* Mid-series flounder. The storyline and action started out strong, floundered, and then thankfully rallied to a surprisingly satisfying last episode.
* Je Ha having superhuman strength less than 24 hours after he had flat lined. Yup, other dramas have been unrealistic about this too, Descendants of the Sun was another example.
* Blatant political corruption. I was incredulous about the level of corruption of the assemblymen and police.  It makes me wonder how much corruption goes on in real life in the U.S. and Korea.

Would I recommend watching the K2? 

Ji Chang Wook and Song Yoon Ah’s portrayal of their characters was excellent and kept the story going.  The fight scenes were superb!  I ❤ when justice prevails, as it did in this story.  The ending was so much more satisfying than I expected; most of the loose ends were wrapped up, truth and justice were triumphed, Yoo Jin and Se Joon were redeemed and the romantic leads literally walk off into the sunset … I love a happy ending.

Are there similar Kdramas I’d recommend?

Healer Ji Chang Wook stars as a Clark Kent/Superman, sans the cape and super powers, type action hero seeking truth of and justice for his father’s death.  Will he find the truth and get justice? Will he break out of his loner lifestyle? Will he get the girl?

Time Between Dog and Wolf Lee Joon Gi stars as a disgraced NIS agent who goes undercover in a Korean branch of a Thai organized crime gang to take down the culprit of the murder of his father and mother and restore his NIS status.  While working undercover in the mafia a near death experience causes him amnesia.  Will he remember who he was and find truth and justice before he becomes too entrenched in the mafia?

City Hunter
Lee Min Ho stars as a young man raised by his father’s best friend/comrade for the purpose of taking revenge on the five government officials responsible for his father’s unjust death.  Lee Min Ho intends justice, while the father who raised him plans lethal revenge—will justice or revenge prevail?

Illjimae Lee Joon Gi stars as a Joseon noble, whose father was unjustly framed and executed for treason.  As a child fugitive, he ended up with PTSD (and no memory) while being chased by assassins.  As a child he was reluctantly taken in and raised by his father’s former slave and mistress and her affable husband.  As an adult he regains his memory and becomes a Joseon Robin Hood, robbing from the rich and giving to the poor, as he seeks for justice for death of his father.  Will he get justice or will he be caught?  As a Lee Joon Gi fan, I loved this drama and didn’t mind the unrealistic/fantasy aspects of the story.

Asian drama fan

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in K2, Kdrama, Reviews
17 comments on “K2 Review – Jane Tilly – Guest Review
  1. Beez says:

    First off, as soon as I see the first captures with the upswept hair:
    SQUEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!

    “Is there an ahjumma out there who wouldn’t kick into cougar mode after being rescued from a burning car and carried away wrapped in Je Ha’s muscular arms while being pressed up against that rockin’ body!…” Jane Tilly

    RAWRRRRRR (with a side of purrrrrrrrrr)

    “…and of course a special mention to the nude fight scene—I read the network got fined by a government agency for that one.” Jane Tilly
    The thought police would be rich from fine collection if they could’ve read all our thoughts during that scene!

    “Who dreams of standing in a line, especially in a life threatening situation?” Jane Tilly
    I know I wouldn’t! For me it’d be Quiznos all the way. Or maybe I’d have to be called back from the lure of the light of the Golden Arches of Micky D’s but certainly, no way Subway! Seriously though, that was some jarring B.S. I literally have resentment toward the whole franchise now! Which is crazy ’cause, I wasn’t this mad and disgusted with them even knowing they were feeding us poisonous bread.

    “Meaningful moments milked for more than they were worth…” Jane Tilly
    DITTO every single word you said in that entire paragraph!

    “Just how much political corruption?” Oh my sweet, sweet JT.

    I enjoyed reading your thoughts on The K2. I was so disappointed in the romance that I didn’t appreciate the parts that were really good. But this has inspired me to give it a rewatch. Without expecting anything from the romance, I bet I’ll enjoy it much more.

    • Jane Tilly says:

      Beez, thank you for your comments. First of all, I concur upswept hair 👨 gives Ji Chang Wook his best look! Secondly you crack me up 😅 with “RAWRRRRRR (with a side of purrrrrrr)” and the jackpot for the thought 👮 police.

      As an aspiring optimist, I admit I may be niave about corruption in politics; although I have felt for a long time that most politicians have a little bit of larceny in their souls or they will once they get a taste of political power.

      I did rewatch K2 as I finished this commentary and some of my opinions softened the second time around.

  2. Is there an ahjumma out there who wouldn’t kick into cougar mode after being rescued from a burning car and carried away wrapped in Je Ha’s muscular arms while being pressed up against that rockin’ body
    No, any woman, any age, would swoon.

    These morally bankrupt characters had a final scene that was beyond my expectations. Their interaction buried the animosity between them, gave them honor and allowed them to die in peace. I was touched by Se Joon’s genuine words to Yoo Jin “Won’t you be my companion on the road to the underworld?” Se Joon knew where they were headed
    Truly that was the highlight moment for Se Joon. Yoo Jin finally found love in her husband’s arms. It was touching.

    Who knew choral music could be so compelling as a score?
    Superb instrumental pieces in the OST.

    They should have laid the death of Anna’s mother at Yoo Jin’s feet as she already had blood on her hands
    Agree. She had murder in her heart.

    It makes me wonder how much corruption goes on in real life in the U.S. and Korea.
    As I watch politicians vote the party line regardless of what their constituents want, I realize that corruption occurs right in front of our faces. Sometimes it’s best not to think about it.

    The ending was so much more satisfying than I expected; most of the loose ends were wrapped up, truth and justice were triumphed, Yoo Jin and Se Joon were redeemed and the romantic leads literally walk off into the sunset … I love a happy ending.
    One of the better final episodes I’ve seen in a while. It was satisfying. I too love ❤️ a happy ending!

    Thank you for taking the time to write the review, restore the review, and share your writing talents with all of us.

    • Jane Tilly says:

      Oh KJT, you are CORRECT – “any woman, any age, would swoon” for a Ji Chang Wook rescue!

      Since the series started out so strong 💪 and then 🐡 floundered, it was a welcome change in Kdramaland to see the writer rally from a good ending, rather than a 🍶 soju-inspired ending. I never would have guessed Se Joon and You Jin could have been redeemed in my 👀; how nice to be wrong!

      Thank you 🙏 KJT for the opportunity to express my thoughts through your blog forum and discuss our biases. 😊😉🌞

      • Beez says:

        JT, while I agree with you that the writer had a great moment with the way the relationship with Ana’s parents ended, they are not redeemed in my eyes AT ALL. NOT-A. NOTHING. ZIP. He was a philanderer and she was a murderer of innocents.

        Now, I do appreciate the realism of these folks in this story. Even Ana’s mother’s behavior was not sugarcoated just because she’s the heroine’s mother or because she’s dead.

        So while I find all these characters reprehensible, I relished such rich characters being offered to us. Maybe that’s why Ana herself seemed lacking in depth to me? Not that I wanted her to have a dark side. In fact, being raised in a convent and sheltered from the world, I’m perfectly fine with her being innocent. Just something was…lacking. I don’t know if the writers said “character profile: Ana. Raised in convent. Sheltered. Innocent. Done.” Or was it the acting that left a gaping hole. Somehow, I didn’t connect with JCW either (which is really weird if you know me and my biases (and you do).)

        But his scene with the middle eastern actress was off and I can’t blame that on anyone but him. (Oh. I done got real y’all.) I, of course, loved his action scenes and his scenes with Step-Mommy Dearest were very good. (She was stellar.)

        I don’t know. Maybe when I watch again, I’ll feel differently and get back to my usually POV that my biases can do no wrong.

        *Scrambles around looking for my rose-colored glasses*

      • I find all these characters reprehensible, I relished such rich characters being offered to us. Maybe that’s why Ana herself seemed lacking in depth to me…writers said “character profile: Ana. Raised in convent. Sheltered. Innocent. Done.”
        Well said. The actress didn’t have the depth to add to such a one-note character.

        But his scene with the middle eastern actress was off and I can’t blame that on anyone but him
        It takes two to tangle. They were both awkward with each other. It was bad.

        his scenes with Step-Mommy Dearest were very good. (She was stellar.)
        I loved who JCW tapped into his inner dark dude with her. He didn’t sugar coat his interactions with her. But he respected her strength and smarts though he had limited power. Best part of the show was their relationship. One of my favorite moments was the umbrella exit when he set the fire sprinklers off to extract her from the meeting.

        No need to scramble for rose colored glasses. 👓 You take the good with the bad. We’ll watch him again. When does he go into the military?

      • Beez says:

        I don’t know other than that it’s this year.

      • His last drama before enlisting ‘Suspicious Partner’ will begin airing in May.

      • Beez says:

        I hope Suspicious Partner gives him a good send off by being so good that everyone can’t wait for him to get back. That happened for Song joon ki with A Werewolf Boy. He was so good that I believe that’s why he was the “it” guy the writer wanted for DOTS.

      • I agree. I want his last project before he goes to leave us happy. I’d like him to be pleased that he ended on a strong note.

      • I never would have guessed Se Joon and You Jin could have been redeemed in my 👀; how nice to be wrong!
        It was a terrific way to end a series and a just reward for those that watched this series.

        Thank you 🙏 KJT for the opportunity to express my thoughts through your blog forum
        It was my pleasure! I love your writing style and how you express yourself. 😊

      • Jane Tilly says:

        Oh Beez, I certainly don’t think Se Joon and Yoo Jin’s final scene excused their evil deeds, there were both villains who were liars, cheaters, murderer’s and ruined countless lives. Their final scene gave them a tiny bit of humanity in my 👀, which redeemed them from being 💯% evil, maybe now only 97% evil? They knew they were headed to the underworld, aka 🔥hell🔥, where they would pay for their sins.

        I agree that Ana was a vastly underdeveloped character, likely due to a combination of writing and acting. I would have been perfectly fine with out a romance. I concur Je Ha’s “romance” with his fiancee was awkward and will admit it was not Just Chang Woo’s finest moment – it take two to tango 💃. I have heard Korean actors feel less comfortable having romantic scenes with non-Korean actresses.

        Outside of the action 👊✊👊 scenes, the Je Ha and Yoo Jin scenes were what kept us coming back to watch. I concur Je Ha did not “sugar-coat” 🍬 his interactions with the villainess, which was part of Yoo Jin’s attraction to him, besides her obvious physical attraction for him.

      • Beez says:

        I need Yoo jin and K2 fan fiction right now! Woo jin holds K2 hostage – both physically and mentally. He’s torn between knowing she’s evil and yet enjoying the “oh-so-bad vixen”. Um yep, somebody needs to write that and send me a link…like yesterday. 😉

      • Jane Tilly says:

        Beez, I think you should take on being the author of that fan fiction. Sound like you already have some fanta….err…ideas. 💡. 😯😳

      • Beez says:

        They say you can’t tickle yourself for some scientific reason. Likewise, I want someone else to feed my fantas–
        ideas. That, or I’m too lazy. 😆

      • Beez says:

        Besides, I’m just riffing off what they [didn’t] showed us. Since Kdrama producers have the censors to contends with, we have to read between those single spaced lines to see what they’re telling us is really going on. 😉

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Posts
April 2017
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
Copyright
© kjtamusings.wordpress.com, 2014-2017, All Rights Reserved. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without expressed and written permission from this site’s author is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to kjtamusings.wordpress.com with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
