Beautiful Mind Review – Guest Commentator – prettysup

Beautiful Mind Review – Guest Commentator – prettysup

The comment sections for Beautiful Mind recaps were full of insightful thoughts and opinions. The passion for this show got me thinking. What if I asked a couple of the avid Beautiful Mind commentators, the same questions about the series, then constructed posts from their responses? Let’s find out…

Today’s Guest commentator:

prettysup

prettysup

 

You may not know it but prettysup started the Beautiful Mind thread on the Soompi forum, a place to find other fans discussing shows you are watching.

prettysup take it away and share your thoughts on Beautiful Mind…

What I Liked Best about Beautiful Mind

bm_poster

The best thing I like about Beautiful Mind is the way it tells the story of each character in the drama, making us rethink about various aspects of humanity and society which we may have ignored or overlooked. Eg how we perceive people with mental disorders, how doctors have to deal with the dilemma of doing research at the expense of patients, how patients who could not afford treatments due to poverty etc. It makes us reflect upon ourselves.

What I Liked Least about Beautiful Mind

jh

I think some of the medical jargon may be too hard to grasp for some viewers. It will be good if they can explain it a little in the drama in layman terms to the audience.

Would I Recommend Beautiful Mind?

kbs2

Of course I would. It is a drama that provokes thinking and feeling. But I would not recommend it to people who do not like to think too much and prefers fluffy light-hearted comedies.

Similar/Other Kdramas I’d Recommend?

These 3 shows are not really similar to Beautiful Mind but all of them involved the male leads having to deal with a mental disorder. They were all great.

* “It’s Ok, It’s love”

* “Kill Me, Heal Me”

* “I Remember You” aka “Hello Monster”

Recaps/Reviews:
Episode 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | Series | A.D.DO! Review | Prettysup Review | Jane Tilly Review | Beez Review

About

Asian drama fan

Tagged with: , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Beautiful Mind, Kdrama, Reviews
87 comments on “Beautiful Mind Review – Guest Commentator – prettysup
  1. prettysup says:

    Thanks for inviting me as a guest commentator !

  2. junny says:

    I actually like that they didn’t explain all the medical jargon in layman terms. It felt a bit more authentic that way.

    • prettysup says:

      I got to google to understand some of the plot points, but some general viewers who stick to just one media may just give up when they do not understand.

  3. A.D.DO! says:

    Prettysup….I liked the way you wrote about ‘ideas’ instead of just ‘things’…just as great PÀINTINGS should be about ‘ideas of things’…..

  4. Jane Tilly says:

    Good overview of plot points–they provoke self-reflection.

    • kjtamuser says:

      Prettysup, You hit the nail on the head with your comment that Beautiful Mind is “a drama that provokes thinking and feeling”. It was an onion that was peeled each episode.

  5. Beez says:

    @prettysup I agree with the “things you liked best”. Even though I think the whole reason I like kdrama is the pristine fantasty of it – Once in a while, I do like seeing the subject of economic disparity addressed (in this case, the affordability of health care). I think we usually only see it in saegeuk or, if it is addressed, never seriously – only our plucky heroine leaving behind her non-dirty, non-crime filled neighborhood to ride off into the sunset with her chaebeoul heir. 🙂 Kudos to Beautiful Mind for showing us a bit more of closer to real life characters and their diverse lifestyles.

    I’ll have to check out “Hello Monster”.

    I would ask for the BM Soompi link, but my mind can’t process any more theories on YO’s frontal lobe. *my frontal lobe hurts* 🤕

    • prettysup says:

      The link was actually provided above, embedded in the word ‘thread’

    • prettysup says:

      And yeah you should really check out “Hello Monster” – it has similar low ratings in Korea as BM but the show was really great.

  6. A.D.DO! says:

    Sorry, Prettysup, but I tried to watch HELLO MONSTER, but didn’t work for me. The lead guy wasn’t bad looking, but just another cookie cutter Kdrama lackluster talent as far as I am concerned. I cut to the end and also hated the way he puckered up for that kiss. After you’ve seen JANG HYUK kiss, these kids look so immature. Don’t take it personally, everyone to their own taste, and I know I should keep my mouth shut…yes, sorry, I will shut up!

    • Beez says:

      A.D.DO! I’m almost scared to say this but…

      Hyuckies kisses don’t look like the best kisses, to me.

      I DO find the man to be incredibly sexy, but I think that’s all that testosterone he exudes (just ooooozes with it). I just can’t think of any kiss he’s had on screen, that I’ve seen, that looked all that great.

      PLEASE CORRECT ME AND POINT ME TO SCENES TO WATCH OR REWATCH!

    • prettysup says:

      @A.D.DO! It is alright, everyone has their own taste for dramas.. for me I am not the shipper-type so my emphasis wasn’t on any kiss hehe

    • Jane Tilly says:

      In the context of Kdramaland Jang Hyuk is one of the better kissers.

      You should check out kjtamuser’s posting for the kiss scene in “Favorite Scene – Another Miss Oh – First Kiss”, the video is embedded. That scene was probably one of the most passionate kisses–active participation on both sides–that you may have ever have seen in a Kdrama.

      This romance was slow to spark, but was the most passionate and intense relationships in Kdramaland–at least that I have seen. I would highly recommend watching it. Kjtamuser recapped the entire series.

      • Beez says:

        Thanks, JT. It’s going on the list. I had planned to watch it, but whenever I miss a show’s opening week, I usually don’t pick it up until I get to it from my list. I had heard the recappers at DB voicing disappointment in it so had decided to skip it. But it’s going back on the list as “rec by JT”.

  7. A.D.DO! says:

    @ Beez…..ok Beez, I am going to get a little collection together…give me some time tho…

    @prettysup…what’s a shipper type? Thanks for not holding my big mouth against me…I do admire most everything you say!

    • Beez says:

      @A.D.DO! *waiting gleefully, rubbing hands together, hoping I see goodies that change my mind*

  8. A.D.DO! says:

    Also, @Prettysup…..you mentioned some time ago that you had zero interest in JH’s Chinese projects and I meant to ask you why? Aren’t they very good? I’ve only seen Anchor Beauty and Inside/Outside and I didn’t care for them come to think of it. But did you have other reasons as well?

    • prettysup says:

      @A.D.DO! I mean I am not interested in the romance aspect of dramas, mostly I prefer to see action and the male lead getting injured only haha… Shipper is a term for ‘relationship’ meaning people who root for couples in dramas.

      About JH’s Chinese projects, did I say that I had zero interest in them? I don’t remember saying that but if I did that is probably because their plots are generally not perceived to be very good. I heard that Falling for anchor beauty (which I didnt watch) was quite cheesy and the shooting style was very primitive. I find Inside or Outside ok though.

  9. A.D.DO! says:

    OK, starting to get the picture now! You and I are polar opposites…I am definitely a shipper and in it for the OTP…hate to see my HYUKIE hurt!
    BTW, do you know what Ajincome means (his Instagram name?)

  10. A.D.DO! says:

    Thanks Prettysup and Beez for ajincome info…makes sense!

    OK Beez, what I’ve been surmising about you is that if you really got off on JH kiss scenes you would have watched these a hundred times on Utube like I have, but in case I’m wrong, and you are a shipper like me,here are some of my faves…and of course, it’s the leading up to that makes it…if you’re not caught up in the story, it ain’t gonna happen…and the incredibleOST on these got my heart racing as well.
    Here goes:
    Just go to UTUBE , BEST JANG HYUK KISS SCENES
    #1 fave of mine
    JANG HYUK, ROBBERS, EP 7 KISS SCENE (chibi2chibi2/Japan)
    (Love the way his lips slide up her face!). I die!

    #2 fave of mine
    JANG HYUK, VERY LOVING KISS, SHINE OR GO CRAZY (UNDERWATER KISS)
    (So wily the way he looks her up and down while she’s wet,) Be still my heart!

    Also good is SHINE OR GO CRAZY, JANG HYUK AND OH YEON SEO KISS SCENES (K.C.fan). A compilation of good cuts.

    #3 fave on Utube
    JANG HYUK REAL FIRST NIGHT CAN REMEMBER, FATED TO LOVE YOU (TV people)
    OTP in bed!

    #3 as well but not found on Utube.. ROBBERS, EP 16 ..around 27:28..WEARING BLUE VNECK SWEATER…I watch this on Dramanice.to
    OMG, those lips!
    So these are some great ones if you’re into romance (with the big guys, not the flower boys!)

    If there’s another blog I can go to to obsess about JH, let me know…you’re all probably sick and tired of me by now!

    • Beez says:

      As for me, never tired of gushing or hearing other people gush over Hyuck-a-Buck.

      I’m going to youtube right nah!

    • Beez says:

      A.D.DO! first, let me THANK YOU for taking the time to list those.

      I did find the best to be this one: ROBBERS, EP 16 ..around 27:28.. (It took me a while to find it cause I went to 27:28 and it’s actually at -27:28 left in the episode. At 27:28, I got caught up in watching the scene with Man Do. Oh so touching!

      Watching all these clips made me realize, it’s not just Hyuckie.I can’t think of one kiss ITSELF in kdramaland that I think “weak in the knees”. Now, Hyuck’s eyes leading up to those kisses- YES! But the lip on lip action itself leaves me cold.

      The Jang Nara kiss you listed – HIS VOICE! But then her little squeaky voice right after just ruins the mood. lol

      This made me realize that what I do like about dramaland kisses is the set up or something else the camera zooms in or focuses on to make it special – Healer’s hat kiss; Queen In Hyun’s tip toe kiss; Sung Hoon’s McSwoony kiss (in 5 Children) which focused on her hand griping his thumb after she swooned). So it’s the anticipation and the circumstances, but never the kiss itself that I like in kdrama.

      And I know it’s sacrilegious but JH’s movie kisses didn’t impress me either. But, hey the man is married so maybe that’s why the dry kisses and THAT DOES impress me.

      Oh yeah, two kisses that rocked my socks, both by Rain – A Love to Kill (not the angles where he’s captured half her face though) and his crazy body backwards kiss in I’m a Cyborg.

      Maybe kjtamuser will do a best kiss voting blog. Then maybe I’ll remember more of the ones I liked after everybody lists their favs. (I get so mad at my short term memory loss. I’m sure there has got to be more kisses in dramas that I’ve liked. Why else would I watch so many of them?

      • kjtamuser says:

        “So it’s the anticipation and the circumstances, but never the kiss itself that I like in kdrama.”

        Interesting comment. It makes sense that the anticipation could be the best part.

        One thing I’ve noticed in good kissing scenes is the camera work is key. I don’t want to go from 8 feet out to a tight zoom. Creep the camera closer so we get the anticipation before the kiss. During the kiss let me see each of the participant’s faces to register the emotional zing of the moment and give me more than a tight zoom shot during the kiss.

        Though the back lighting is irritating the Lie to Me Cola Kiss packs a punch:
        https://kjtamusings.wordpress.com/2016/05/09/favorite-scene-lie-to-me-coke-kiss/

        I’ve never done a voting blog. I’ll have to consider that.

      • Beez says:

        I haven’t seen “Lie to Me”, but I’ve seen the clip of that kiss because at one time, everybody everywhere was talking about it. 🙂

    • kjtamuser says:

      Appreciate the list!

  11. A.D.DO! says:

    @Beez. You are really weird Beez.haha, just kidding…but can’t imagine any girl (and I’m assuming you are one,) not swooning over any one of JH’s kisses…what do you want, a lot of tongue action? Or no actual kissing at all, just anything up to that point? I am only having fun with you, you don’t have to answer…in fact, I don’t think Prettysup likes it either….everyone to their own thing.I will give some of the ones you mentioned a look see though when I get time. In the meantime I will keep my darling kissing HYUKIE all to myself! 💋💋💋

    • Beez says:

      Believe me, I KNOW I’m weird. lol 57 years old, can squee like I’m a 15 year old girl while watching Twilight (Team Jacob!); got a 13 year old boy in here somewhere who loves all things sci-fi and original Marvel origin stories; a Korean ahjumma is lurking about too! (Have you seen how the ahjummas – IN REAL LIFE – act around handsome male celebrities? They are like we had to be demure until we were 39. Now I can do and say (and touch) what I want!

      MELT MY KNEES KISSES
      Keep in mind, they’re in an insane asylum. lol

      I better explain this one. A bit of it is gross but it was originally shown two different ways. There was one edit that was the cliffhanger and the kiss was sweet & sexy and you think he’s kissing her because he’s fallen for her in spite of hating her for what he thinks she did to his brother. Then the next episode you see he’s kissing her to film it to send to another guy that likes her. And that kiss, I’ll admit, got eat-your- whole-face sloppy.

      • Beez says:

        @ktjamuser – thanks for the way the videos are in my “kisses” post.I just posted the links but they appear as the actual videos. I’m assuming you fixed them?

      • kjtamuser says:

        That’s the way it works in WordPress. I remember the first time I added a video link in a comment to another writer’s blog and the embedded videos automatically were inserted. It surprised me, but it is convenient.

  12. A.D.DO! says:

    Oh, another thing I was thinking is that none of us know much about the other …just our likes and dislikes…and here we are chatting away like magpies…pretty cool, right? ( I hardly even speak to my neighbors..tee hee!)

    • Beez says:

      For reelz. In my last post,I listed a FEW of my idiosyncrasies. So see, you had me pegged even before I listed them out. lol

      And don’t get me wrong, I love me some Jang Hyuk. Why else would I go back and suffer through Iris 2 and Successful Story of a Bright Girl and search all over for that dance movie with him and Jason Scott Lee. I think there’s only two of his projects I haven’t gotten to yet – Tazza and I’d have to check The List to tell you the other one.

      Oh, and I watched Empire of Lust when the only subs I could find are machine subs. I swear I could’ve done better if I had shredded a dictionary and randomly picked words out of a bingo spinner. smh

      • kjtamuser says:

        Here’s a link to Tazza which I have not watched.
        http://www.gooddrama.net/korean-drama/tazza

        “I watched Empire of Lust when the only subs I could find are machine subs. I swear I could’ve done better if I had shredded a dictionary and randomly picked words out of a bingo spinner”
        * LOL!

      • Beez says:

        Thanks! Right now, I’m only watching 2 dramas and no American shows. Five Children and, when I’m ready to fall asleep – Flower in Prison, which I can’t stay awake while it’s on. lol I’m packing for my move and I just have so….much….stuff!

      • kjtamuser says:

        Understand. Moving is hard work!

  13. A.D.DO! says:

    @Beez …..you are one witty s.o.b. if I may be so bold…really crack me up with some of the things you come up with! I might not be quick enough in the brain pan to ‘get’ it all tho’…is the Korean ahjumma one of your persona’s or someone else? Wondering if I am the only non-Asian watching these dramas…not that it matters.

    You were right, those were some lick em chops kisses…if only it was JH who was doing them…not into Rain at all…and I need to feel the love to enjoy to the max. , but did enjoy! Thanks for sending…

    I thought you had already moved…why are you still packing?

    • Beez says:

      Thank-you, A.D.DO! (I think) lol

      I’m African American (although my age qualifies me to still say Black. But yes, Korean Ahjumma is one of my personas (although less dominant than the 15 year- old squealer; or the BFLERD (Black Female Nerd). Have you SEEN how they act around buff/handsome celebrities? Although I would never be so bold in real life if a celebrity were walking down the street or in my vicinity, but my THOUGHTS are downright nasty (it’s the Korean male celebrities’ fault for all the buffness) and I cheer them on (the ahjummas), all while being embarassed for them.

      I’m still packing because, 1) I’m waiting on a closing date for my house; 2) my disability means I get tired and take many, many, many breaks to sit and check my email for you guys’ comments; and 3) I’m a shopaholic so I just have SO…MUCH…STUFF. *sigh*

      • Jane Tilly says:

        My oh my I have enjoyed the clips, links and information on best kisses Rain is a pretty impressive kisser. I think a voting blog with links to sway our votes would be awesome. You could let participants nominate the entries and then have a voting time period. Koreandrama.org does this at the end of each year to nominate and then vote for the best Kdrama.

        Moving sucks, but I find it as an opportunity to literally lighten the load! I wish you the best with your move Beez!

      • Beez says:

        Thanks J.T. If you guys see me get quiet around here, just know I’ll be off getting settled and will be back once the move is done. I actually have two moves ahead of me. I live in Florida and I’m heading home to Michigan. I’ll be putting EVERYTHING in storage except the daily basics and moving in with my cousin to help her take care of my ailing 94 year old aunt. Once I get her organized and on a schedule (my cousin is in her mid-70’s herself so the paperwork overwhelms her), I’ll be looking for a house near my son and D-I-L. Once I find and move into my own house, I’ll continue to relieve my cousin 2-3 days a week. So I’ll again have a lull of posting comments when I make the second move. But right now, I’m still waiting on a closing date so you’ll still see my frequent comments for now. ☺

        Wait until I’m finally settled and I get back to watching 4-5 dramas a week!

  14. A.D.DO! says:

    Sorry about your packing woes…its always a nasty job. I remembered you said you were African American, but thought maybe Asian as well…you seem to connect with all the dramas on a deep level.
    I’ve gone back several times to those Rain videos you sent …he really does get into it I must say! HYUKIE might could take a few lessons from him (or I could go over and show him how it’s done! Lol…like he would want to kiss an old broad like me! (But don’t ask how old!)
    Keep watching, taking breaks, but stop shopping!

    • Beez says:

      @A.D.DO! Lol. Do I smell rebellion? lololol

      But Jang Hyuck is still tops in my book (although, Rain can do that hand-stand from a sitting cross-legged position too. hmmmmm😉)

      The truth is I have about 8 Kdrama stars that make me “lick my chops” as you say. lol Most of them were born around 1975-76. And a couple of wet behind the ears puppies too. Even if I were the age of the youngin’s, the flower boys do nothing – absolutely NOTHING – for me.

      I’m not Asian but I became fascinated with how men and women seem to have the same types of relationships even as I’m looking at everything else (culturally) being so different. And the writers seem to be very witty, plus, even though I’m no prude (Spartacus is one of my favorite TV shows and it is wild but the writing is amazing), I enjoy the innocence of Kdrama and the old fashioned morals and giving a kid a good head thump once in a while. lol

      I’ll still complain about the dry kisses though because after waiting for 16+ episodes…

  15. A.D.DO! says:

    Sorry, last comments were to @Beez!

  16. A.D.DO! says:

    @Beez…will say this, then leave you alone for awhile to let you get your s..t together…sounds overwhelming!
    JH will always be #1 son (do you remember the old Charlie Chan movies?!) with me too…, but it’s time for him now to graduate from those sweet sliding up the face kisses to more in the category of “I want to eat your face off” kisses…I know you’ve got it in you, HYUKIE, we’ve all seen those sly raking over the body looks you throw in there sometimes!?..(subtle, but we’ve seen ’em!). All us ajummas will go wild, trust me! Listen to Auntie…So hope he reads this, lol!
    Meanwhile, I thought I would take a look at CINDERELLA AND FOUR KNIGHTS to see Park So Dam and the flower boys. Problem is, they all look alike to me and I can’t tell them apart! Will probably keep watching tho’, because I’ve a,ways loved the Cinderella story and she is cute as a button. I like the boys youngish too, if they know how to act! And have that certain ‘je nais se quoi’ we’re all looking for., unfortunately they’re few and far between. Can’t think of a single American actor who turns me on right now…although Tom Hiddleston was great in THE NIGHT MANAGER recently.

    Loved JH in FTLY..especially in the beginning…his washing his hair commercial for one! LOVED!

    Enough opining ( I actually hate that word), but WTH?..it came to mind!
    Take it easy…
    Good thing we have our little ‘escape’ hatches to go to!

    • Beez says:

      LOL.

      I thought of a youngin’ I like – Kim Bum! (he just needs some meat on his bones and a decent drama for me to watch his l’il azz in. )

    • kjtamuser says:

      “Loved JH in FTLY..especially in the beginning…his washing his hair commercial for one! LOVED!”
      I just watched that scene this weekend. JH looked so yummy in that scene!

      Per Cinderella and Four Knights, I’m hoping Il Woo bring it this series, he can make magic with the right role.

      Hmm, American actors are not high on my list right now. But you don’t complain about American kissing etc in most series.

      • A.D.DO! says:

        @kjtamusings….your recaps of CINDERELLA AND FOUR KNIGHTS got my attention and now I’m actually rather hooked on it…which one is Il Woo? The pop star, the ladies’ man heir, or the one who worked with the mechanics? They all look so alike to me, I can’t even tell from photos! Help! I think it definitely has possibilities,…I like her spunk and the boys don’t don’t seem like sissies. It will fill the gap until the next JH…isn’t it coming up in September sometime?

      • kjtamuser says:

        Mechanic Man is Il Woo and the prince charming of the series, though he’s short on charm at the moment.

      • Beez says:

        Well, you know our stars (assuming you’re from the U.S., too?) – they just go for it. Decorum be damned. After going all out hot & heavy, next thing you know, they’re leaving their spouse for their co-star. smh

      • kjtamuser says:

        US is not shy! LOL…they do leave each other for co-stars!

      • Beez says:

        BTW,I recognize that makes me a hypocrite. I WANNA SEE SOME GOOD KISSES…but you better not get turned on and leave your spouse. *smh at myself*

      • Jane Tilly says:

        kjtamuser I”m on the same page as you “Hmm, American actors are not high on my list right now. But you don’t complain about American kissing etc in most series.” I am an Il Woo fan too; here’s hoping this is a good vehicle for him.

        A.D.DO!–Jung Il Woo is the mechanic

      • kjtamuser says:

        It’s tough when I like an actor and I hope that the series turns out to be a good showcase for their skills. Sometimes it works out, and sometimes not, but for the right actor (male or female) I’ll watch a series. When it doesn’t work out, poor writing is the culprit most of the time.

  17. A.D.DO! says:

    @Jane Tilly…Oh good, I am more drawn to him…but like the other guys as well. Looking forward to Park So Dam kicking ass in Sky House and whipping those brats into shape. Her step family, the family from hell.

  18. Holly Moon says:

    No one mentioned the kiss from Robbers I loved the most. It is the kiss after the marriage proposal in the jail. You don’t get any face action, but oh when he sinks into her I swear I swoon (how’s that for a good old-fashioned word).

    • Beez says:

      @HollyMoon – I’m grinning ear to ear because Robbers comes up throughout all of these Beautiful Mind episode comment threads and I think it’s the show we (those if us who liked it) mention the most. We’ve talked about it ad nauseum, but since you brought it up…😄

      …he’s so fine in Robbers with that long hair and those ’70’s apple hats. I can’t pick just one favorite moment. Since I’ve mentioned the storage room ladder incident to everyone here so often, and the thump ups, and the handstand, I think this time I’ll go with the animated slo mo “running” as he instructs the big gangster frenemy to walk up to the traffic cop girl that he likes. I can watch that over and over and over.

      @A.D.DO! which thread was it that you were on about about JH’s Robbers kiss in the blue turtleneck sweater? Was it in yours or Jane Tilly’s guest commentator thread?

  19. A.D.DO! says:

    @Holly Moon…thought I knew every ROBBERS scene by heart, but can’t remember which one you mean in the jail…do you know what episode it was?
    @Beez…can’t remember what thread it was, but it was episode 16 at 37.27 that I was talking about loving the angle of his mouth as he goes in for the kiss that just slays me every time. He has on a blue T neck sweater and they’re talking about going shopping for slippers…but he says “later”…and how he gets that glint in his eye I will never know. He actually has a very different look all together in this scene…very cute and so sweet., his eyes crinkle up in a darling way. Lucky Lee Da Hae! In fact, I bet she and JANG Nara had to have fallen madly in love with him when filming those movies..sigh…
    So one doesn’t ALWAYS need the take it to the limit kiss scenes…the tender ones are nice too..but like you said, after 16 episodes , you kinda want a bit more than just kissy face….
    I would have loved to see DR. Young O and what’s her name really get it on…can you imagine??? To see him go from ‘Frozen’ to ‘steamy’ would be a sight to behold…oh damn, now I won’t be able to sleep tonight again!!!

    • Beez says:

      @A.D.DO! First of all – that Look in his eyes -yeahhhh buddy! But something confused me in Robbers – He moved in with Lee Dae Hae’s character. Accepted by M-I-L that they would have this grown up sexual relationship, and then, some time later (after he’s been living there) he says let’s go register for marriage. I remember this is one other Kdrama as well. So now I’m wondering if anyone had any insight on why that’s okay sometimes? Why is it sometimed considered as legit as marriage where other times it-s considered “living in sin/shacking up”? I’m asking about S. Korean cultural views. I know a lot of times people answer with western or their own countries views, but I specifically want to know about S. Korean.

      Has anybody else seen this in dramas? And do you know why sometimes living together is not at all scandalous?

      • Jane Tilly says:

        Beez–unless we have a Korean contributor (my friend is currently out of the country), we can only go by what we have seen in other Kdramas. Sometimes the difference is between network television vs. cable television, cable being more liberal with sex, living together, and / or extra-marital affairs. Funny thing was that Robbers was on SBS, which I believe is a network station. However, kissing was the limit of what we saw for the couple in Robbers. They did show them in bed with their matching PJs, but there was nothing sexy or even very playful about the scene. Who knows?

        In Mischievous Kiss (MBC, another network channel) a high school couple, who I believe had a wedding ceremony and then lived with the grooms family, but didn’t register their marriage until later. Kissing was also the extent of what they showed for this couple.

        HYPOTHESIS: Maybe the commitment for marriage or wedding ceremony is the important part and registering the marriage is simply a formality to make it legal versus living together without a marriage commitment makes the difference for being considered living in sin.

      • Beez says:

        @Jane Tilly “…Robbers. They did show them in bed with their matching PJs, but there was nothing sexy or even very playful about the scene. Who knows?”

        I know. lol. I think most kdrama watchers make that conclusion – that couples are not having sex. Now, I agree that when the show indicates the heroine is innocent, that’s correct. But sometimes I see people going “why is she acting like that? Is not like their relationship had progressed to being sexual.” But my thoughts are that, just because they don’t show sex, doesn’t mean eye not to think they’re not having it. I think when they show us a long- term couple like in Oh My Venus (well, bad example cause that one’s obvious but I can’t think of another right now). Oh, I know – the middle-aged couple in Five Children. They didn’t want to upset their “Brady Bunch-equse” kids or their parents/ex in-laws by marrying, so they decided to “date” for 25 years until the youngest child grew up. I don’t believe we’re supposed to think that’s going to be platonic. But we need to decipher when it’s really the whole she’s a virgin thing from the networks just not showing.The reaction by others to the couples is also a clue.

        As to Robbers, like you pointed out, Hyukie’s eyes tell me all I need to know about what they were doing. lol

      • Jane Tilly says:

        Ohhh…I am getting distracted at work thinking about Mr. Yumminess. It is not a matter of what the characters are doing or not doing (eyes can be a giveaway), it is a matter of what the network is willing to depict.

      • Beez says:

        JT – HAHA! Agreed ’cause I want to SEE them depict it! lol

      • Beez says:

        @Jane Tilly Don’t let this get you fired but, I rewatched Searching for the Elephant last night. Did you know there’s FULL nude back of Mr. Jang in it? I’ve watched that movie 4 times now and this is the first time I noticed it!

        For such a svelte man, he does not have a flat butt. *just observing*

        P.S. Wipe any drool off your keyboard. 😉

      • Beez says:

        This came in my email today. Have you guys seen this?:
        “Guerilla Date with Jang Hyuk”

      • Jane Tilly says:

        Beez you and your observations crack me up! I see what you are after…Hyuk-a-buck naked.

        Sometimes…things are better left to the imagination. 😛

      • Beez says:

        @JT “I see what you are after…Hyuk-a-buck naked.

        Sometimes…things are better left to the imagination”

        “Buck naked” yuppp!

        But – Uh-unnnnn. My imagination didn’t do that butt justice!

    • Holly Moon says:

      @ A.D.DO ! … The kiss scene I was referring to, is the last scene in Episode 10. And after the emotional scene when she tells him, she would like to be together when he gets out. I will say, the editing during that scene bothered me because it was not pieced together well, but the kiss more than made up for it as far as I am concerned. And it clearly was the sinking in part that does it for me.

  20. A.D.DO! says:

    @Holly Moon, thanks, now I know which one you meant…touching how he puts the ear rings on her too. And that fantastic OST really helps. So many great scenes in this drama…probably my favorite kiss scene is the one in front of her gate…such a nice long lead up….powerful!
    I hope he does more like this!

  21. A.D.DO! says:

    Thanks, Beez for that fantastic Gorilla Date Video,,I had seen some but not all…such a nice long piece. Love always to see his personal side, and he never disappoints…so patient with the fans, down to earth, and funny. And so quick on the uptake. Love when he said he preferred being called handsome over being a good actor..he knows when to go for the laugh. It just confirms what we already know, he is the most perfect man in the whole world! Need I say more?

    • Beez says:

      Usually I’m grossed out by people eating if there mouths are open even the slightest. But he was eating whatever that was VER-Y sexy.

  22. A.D.DO! says:

    @beez…Can you pin point (or time stop) when that SEARCHING FOR THE ELEPHANT HYUK buck naked scene is? Don’t want to watch the whole thing but wouldn’t mind taking a quick peep at THAT! Hmmmm…..👀 👀

    • Beez says:

      Dang A.D.DO! I would give you exact timing but I’m out trying to book a uHaul and running errands because I finally got a closing date. I can guess that it’s maybe around the first 15-20 minutes. The scene where Hyuk and his boyz are in a swimming pool bonding and chillin’ and Hyuk gets out first. Blink (or be looking at the subs and/or other guys) and you’ll miss it. Right after Hyuk and his one friend ask the nympho friend if his wife knows about the other woman. The wife being Hyuk’s sister makes him kind of disgusted (but not as much as he should be if you ask me) with the situation so he gets out of the pool. *sighing over nice tan lines* 😉

  23. A.D.DO! says:

    Thanks, Beez….found it! Had seen it before, but forgot…( now how could I do that??). Also re caught the sexy lovemaking in bed with the kookoobird pseudo Doctor/mental patient (on a mission to get his sperm inside her body). OKaaaaa….glad she succeeded! Loved the armpit shot! Er, it was an armpit, right? It was good to see JANG in something like this kinky movie for a change…what a range he has, and not always so prudish. Most of these KDRAMAS are so silly and immature…keep trying to find some that aren’t. Anybody know some good ones?
    Good luck with your mission, Beez. Don’t forget to come back to us!

    @kjtamuser…looking forward to your next recap of Cinderella and Four Knights ….hoping it won’t be too silly, immature like most!

    • Beez says:

      @A.D.DO! First, how could you forget! I find it amazing that for somebody who stays in such lean fighting shape that he has a nice arse.I know guys that are extremely muscular can have nice butts,but JH is sooo lean that I just didn’t think he’d have all THAT. lol

      REC: I recently watched The Good Doctor. I don’t really care for the main actor but I have to admit he’s good.(He was the lead in Yong Pal).

      He plays a pediatrician who has the mentality of a 10 year old. I think they said his condition is high functioning autism. Weird though how they sometimes said he was “almost cured” throughout the series.

      I found the tone of the series perfect because, whilr it’s not my fav rom-com, but it’s not overly dark nor makjang (I might be using that wrong. No tissues needed.) It just shows him navigating his condition. It may be a bit optimistic because I doubt any hospital would give him that position in real life. It shows he had to fight for it but still…not possoble in real life, I don’t think.

      I find it VERY good.

      I can see now that I’ll still be checking in with you guys cause this is my break in this madness!

  24. A.D.DO! says:

    @ kjtamusings…sorry, I didn’t mean your recaps were silly, etc…I was talking about how most of the dramas out there are!! Guess they’re aimed at teenyboppers.

  25. Beez says:

    For A.D.DO! I love the silly rom-coms but, from my list of stuff I’ve watched, here is the more serious stuff. Just because I say I didn’t like something, doesn’t mean it’s not good. I just prefer the silly stuff. Usually, I watched this serious stuff because one of my bias is in it. You’ll see I didn’t rate the stuff Song Seung Heon is in because I can’t trust my judgment on it. Everyone says he’s a horrible actor…I don’t see it and enjoy ending he’s in. I think hexs got me transfixed so…

    My Love Eun Dong – Joo Jin Mo (9.75 – I HATE infidelity but this story is SO well written and done well)

    East of Eden – Song Seung Heon (epic and so many tears that I have never cried at another kdrama. It cried and dried me out forever.I don’t know if the story made me cry, but every time SSH cried, which was every episode from about episode 34 on, I cried.

    Empress Ki – saeguek – Ji Chang Wook, Ha Ji Won, Joo Jin Mo (50plus episodes but epic and great acting and amazing “true” story of how a Korean slave girl became Empress of Japan 9

    It’s Okay That’s Love (don’t let anyone tell you what it’s about. It’s more enjoyable to be clued in when the show wants to reveal key things) 8.75

    Hidden Identity (I hated it but tried to watch for a very serious Kim Bum) boring, stupid, not done well 5

    I Heard It Through the Grapevine (Kpop idol Lee Joon) (this is a DARK comedy. I call it “What happens to Candy after she caught her chaebeoul”) And I didn’t even have decent subs so some stuff (mostly cultural, I think) remains a mystery. 10!

    Innocent Man starring Song Joon Ki (I didn’t care for) 6

    A Love to Kill, totally Makjang but it has Rain (The first episode or two were totally confusing. I stopped but came back to it months later. Glad I did.)

    Maids – Oh Ji Ho (rival general from Chuno) saegeuk showing MUCH more gritty life of slaves than most saegeuk usually show (pfffts out toward the end but good up until then)

    Merchant – Jang Hyuk 3 (and one of those points is just cause they were smart enough to cast JH so I hit to look at him through the torture of 30 plus episodes)

    Missing You aka I Miss You (Yoochun/Yoon Eun-Hye/Yoo Seung-Ho)
    hated it. It starts with the rape of the 13-year old lead female character. Dark enough for you? That’s not why I hated it though. Can’t really say why, I just did. 5

    Cruel City (I didn’t make it past the first episode but I plan to go back because everybody always talks about it being good and gritty. Seems like typical American-type cops verses mafia based on what I did watch)

    New Tales of Gisaeng – Sung Hoon (daily, long drama so it”s kind of slow. Not dark at all but not a comedy either. Rich guy falls in love with girl. He knows he can’t marry her because she’s not of his social status. He tries to make her his mistress. She refuses. He tries to get his family to adopt her to raise her out of poverty (huh?) She refuses. But her own family life changes and she has no choice but to become gisaeng at the last modern day gisaeng house. 7.75 *drooling over Sung Swoony*

    Padam, Padam, the Sound of His and Her Heartbeats (Jung Woo and Kim Bun) Drifts between serious and mystical ???? It can’t be described because it is NOT fantasy but it is and then other parts are just SO real. No pretending women over 29 don’t have sex in this drama. Not that it is riske at all, just real-er than most. 9.5

    Six Flying Dragons (Yoo Ah In/SKS) 9.75

    Sorry, I Love You – So Ji Sub (SJS that’s all you need to know) 7.75 on the old classics scale

    That Winter the Wind Blows (Song Hye-Kyo/Zo In Sung/Kim Bum in supporting role) I didn’t like it 6.7

    Tree with Deep Roots Jang Hyuk/Song Joong-Ki. 9.5 (should’ve left out the wuxia though)

    When a Man Loves – Song Seung Heon *sigh* *so fine*

    Yong Pal 8 interesting and different first half. Kim Yae Hae in a forced coma and you hear her trapped thoughts. Last half was okay too. The focus switched from the hero to her once she awakened. It was still good but it lost that weird almost sci-fi vibe it had when we, the viewers, were the only ones who could hear her thoughts.

    Please excuse any typos, I’m on my phone.

  26. A.D.DO! says:

    @Beez…Wow, that’s some list! I will keep it to tap into…seeing as I am just getting my feet wet in Kdrama and need some guidance. I stumbled onto MARS, Taiwanese and am quite loving it…a young Vic Chou looking gorgeous and sexy dialogue…seems there are a million episodes tho, (and some hot ones coming up,they say),so might not get to your list right away, but seems you didn’t like a lot of them anyway! Lol
    Why do these gorgeous young male actors with beautiful long hair cut it after a few movies (dramas) and lose that look? Why, why, why???
    I don’t like to cry or be sad, so EAST OF EDEN is out…and how dare they rip off John Steinbeck’s title? Also ALL ABOUT EVE and all our Great American novels? Don’t like it! Sorry!

    • Beez says:

      I’ve gotten used to the titles but I don’t think it’s necessarily S. Korea’s fault. It could be on the U.S. side of things. If you look at the literal S. Korean title (if it’s translated directly into English), it’s usually not the same title we see here. Although,in East of Eden, that is the original title given in Korean – 에덴의 동쪽

      It mainly only bothers me when the English title has so many different translations that trying to find the series is so difficult. Example – when I first watched Searching for the Elephant in Amazon Instant Video – I didn’t finish it in one sitting. So later on in the day, I sat down to pick up where I left off and couldn’t find the movie! I called Amazon to tell them something was screwy and they said I left off watching Penthouse Playboys. And the poster in my “left off viewing queue” was of one of the other actors with the prostitute in the fishnet stockings (which those poster scenes were never in the movie) so I was insisting “I didn’t watch any Penthouse crap”! lol

      But usually it’s just the transposition of English words: “Couple Trouble” aka “Fantasy Couple” that bugs me. So that I’m searching a streaming site for the wrong title. Yeah, it can be frustrating at first, but you get used to it.I wish we knew who to contact to say “Just pick one English title and be done with it!”

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Posts
August 2016
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  
Copyright
© kjtamusings.wordpress.com, 2014-2017, All Rights Reserved. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without expressed and written permission from this site’s author is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to kjtamusings.wordpress.com with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
