Beautiful Mind Review – Guest Commentator – A.D.DO!

Beautiful Mind Review – Guest Commentator – A.D.DO!

The comment sections for Beautiful Mind recaps were full of insightful thoughts and opinions. The passion for this show got me thinking. What if I asked a couple of the avid Beautiful Mind commentators, the same questions about the series, then constructed posts from their responses? Let’s find out…

Today’s Guest commentator:
ADO
A.D.DO!

A.D.DO! take it away and share your thoughts on Beautiful Mind…

What I Liked Best about Beautiful Mind

 

In a word, JANG HYUK!  Always a mesmerizing actor, his Dr. Young O was another captivating characterization in an unusual story that still keeps me thinking.

Some of the most memorable moments:

* The lie detector scene…brilliant!

* His disbelief confronting Min-Jae after she exposed him at the conference…he says, “I did my best”…and she says, “You did your best to pretend”…

* His caring speech to the cellist about to lose his hearing shows how far he actually has come from the prick he was on the plane, not offering to help.

Just a few, there were many more!

I keep trying to imagine their life together…hopefully as a married couple…like making pancakes in the a.m. after a morning quickie!  (Please don’t let no empathy negate passion!)   And, a girl can dream, can’t she?

What I Liked Least about Beautiful Mind

Some unclear or unanswered questions:

* Was the front lobe injured or not?

* Who knew and when did they know it?  Min Jae still was still flirting, putting on lipstick, and trying to get him to take her on a date after she had seen the x-rays, right?   Her behavior puzzled me all the way through…nice girl, turncoat bad girl, back to nice girl??? Thinking more about Min Jae…I guess she was using him all along…him being the son of one of the head doctors was a good move for her, empathy or no empathy…and then when the opportunity for a professorship came up, she showed her true colors and threw him under the bus.  Why she tries to make nice later on is just another side of her sleazy personality.

* What happened to the deaf kid?

* Shouldn’t the Chairman be culpable in some of this?  He gets off Scott free.

* Also unnerving was watching the operation scenes through my hand (does anyone besides a doctor enjoy this?)

* And watching Dr. Lee Gun-Myung’s forehead move up and down! Scary!

* The double kiss was nice, but a little ‘foreplay’ leading up to it would have helped…probably lost in the truncated version, too bad.  A little lust would have been ok…wishing maybe he had meant that line, “going to a hotel” for real, not just for food!

Would I Recommend Beautiful Mind?

DEFINITELY! AND MORE THAN ONCE! Funny, when watching it, I thought, “I probably wouldn’t watch this again”. But when it was over there were questions puzzling me so I decided to rewatch and loved it even more…some things I missed on the first go round, and many more special scenes and nuances than I had remembered as well.


Similar/Other Kdramas I’d Recommend?

* I guess “THANK YOU” is the most similar, with the Doctor theme…and it was so charming.

* ROBBER(S)

* FATED TO LOVE YOU

* SHINE OR GO CRAZY

Each one is my very favorite when I am watching it!

I just have never found any actor to capture my attention (or my heart!) like Jang Hyul…so I don’t watch any KDrama unless he’s in it!

Recaps/Reviews:
Episode 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | Series | A.D.DO! Review | Prettysup Review | Jane Tilly Review | Beez Review

 

Asian drama fan

Tagged with: , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Beautiful Mind, Kdrama, Reviews
56 comments on “Beautiful Mind Review – Guest Commentator – A.D.DO!
  1. Drama Fan says:

    I love this idea! Great first commentator too! 👍

  2. A.D.DO! says:

    Geez, thanks guys! Glad I didn’t sound like a dodo, instead of an a.d.do….there are so many beautiful minds out there, all with different opinions which helped to get a handle on this complicated, fascinating drama. And, of course, I could go on talking about JANG HYUK forever!

  3. Beez says:

    @A.D.DO! “In a word, JANG HYUK”
    Yaaaa-uup! Love all five-foot-seven-point-debatable-five inches of this man! Oh wait. I messed that up cause the extra .5 was in centimeters. Oh well. Y’all know what I mean.

    The subs I watched didn’t day this “he says, “I did my best”…and she says, ‘You did your best to pretend’.” That makes me feel a bit more empathy towards Min Jae. *ironic, huh?*

    I gotta find somewhere else with different subs to watch this.

    I’m with you, A.D.DO!, about the passion. Nobody said his gonads were malfunctioning. But this is Kdrama so I have to pretend he was with Min Jae for 10 very chaste years.

    • prettysup says:

      Haha your comment about the debatable 0.5 cm cracks me up lol..

      • Drama Fan says:

        Do not debate in front of Hyukie. He actually gets mad and his head sets up in flames lol! I wish I could find the capture of the show where he said this :p He gets really mad at people thinking he is 1.69 when he is a full 1.74.5 people! POINT FIVE!

        • Beez says:

          @DF – isn’t it on Stuck in Hyuk? I know he discusses his height and having to wear lifts sometimes in Chuno on a talk show in one of the clips on your site (although, I’m not sure if he specifies the “.5” so maybe you guys are speaking of a different clip?)

          The clip I’m thinking of has intro text saying JH did the talk show as a favor to his friend who is the host.

    • Jane Tilly says:

      @A.D.DO Jang Hyuk is definitely the man! I would have like a bit more passion, but the writer chose a sweet romance instead–was it because of the age difference between Jang Hyuk and Park So Dam? I decided I would be satisfied with a sweet ❤ happy ending instead of one or both of them dying!

      @Beez I would feel pity for MJ if she had not made such a valiant effort to destroy his professional life because YO hid his dysfunction from her. She should have confronted him outside the hospital for the personal issues and quietly informed HR about her concerns regarding YO practicing medicine. How long did hold onto that information?

      Who knows what their 10 year relationship was like? We never saw evidence of a physical relationship, but as Beez said "Nobody said his gonads were malfunctioning." A psychopath would have used that relationship to fulfill his own desires…I'm just sayin'…even if this is Kdramaland 💋

      • Drama Fan says:

        @JaneTilly @Beez I think I understood that at least 5 of those 10 years were a long distance relationship? And yeah age gap might be the reason the relationship. I heard in other dramas there isn’t more than hand holding. But, I think an awkward shy and sweet courtship worked well in Beautiful Mind. Especially given how emotionally stunted LYO was. We only witnessed the beginning of their relationship really. It would’ve been too complicated to involve rushed intimacy and its consequences to such a relationship, imo.

        • kjtamuser says:

          “It would’ve been too complicated to involve rushed intimacy”
          I agree that there wasn’t enough time for their relationship to progress to intimate given the structure of the show.

          • Beez says:

            I didn’t see physical intimacy as a necessity in this relationship with JS because it’s still early. My issue is with the lonnnng relationship with MJ having zero hint of it. I know, I know, it’s K-ville. BUT…I’ve seen some pretty shocking stuff in ep.1s of even the most light-hearted fluff. So you give me a show that’s dark and ominous with lungs and open brains and you don’t even imply a 10-year relationship was an adult relationship? C’monnnnn…

            (I say “Ep 1s” because if you’ve ever noticed, episodes 1,and sometimes 2, can be quite riske or shocking (in K terms). I recall ep1 of FTLY and the strategically placed lamp pole in alignment with a buck naked Jang Hyuck *stops to grin and gaze off picturing* (and I think I just wanted to mention that scene because there are far more scenes that imply a couple or characters have sex). And it’s usually the first couple of episodes before they pull ye ol’ bait and switch – “hee hee, you thought we were going to be grown up about this. Haha! Now watch the remaining 14 episodes waiting for more tidbits but the pecs will remaining covered and the kisses will be drrrry and infantile. Muhawawawaa!)

      • Drama Fan says:

        A psychopath would’ve used the relationship to fulfill his own desires ” The thing is a) Not all psychopaths are created equal, from what Ive read b) Maybe sexual desire was not or is not in LYOs mind at all (that would be sad :p) c) Not all human beings are sexual d) Even if all psychopaths or humans were sexual (which is not the case) I actually think LYO is not a psychopath. I think he has problems understanding and therefore empathizing with others, until their emotions are spelled out to him and then he can compare with some past experience of his own etc (which is kind of what “normal people” do automatically, right?) but the fact that he “tries” to understand genuinely and not just to use and manipulate does cancel him out as a “textbook or Hollywood” definition of pshychopath. There are supposedly other mental conditions that prevent people from reading emotions too (maybe LYO should consult Dr Google? Lol)

        • Beez says:

          So here’s something I don’t think we’ve addressed here: What about the lack of impulse control? If he’s not a psychopath/sociopath, and he’s been taught to suppress his emotions – whassup with going around snatching people up by their throats?

          Wassup wit dat, huh? 😊

          • Drama Fan says:

            @Beez his brain is damaged already. I won’t repeat the word drugs again.

            • Beez says:

              I understand your theory regarding the drugs, DF, but unless the drugs are some type of psychotropic (right word?) shouldn’t the drug he was taking suppress those types of urges?

              • Drama Fan says:

                @Beez It is established in the drama thar he has used Quietapine and other unknown drugs. The fact that drugs affect the brain is not really a theory? It’s actually a fact. The only doubt I have is in exactly what way the damage manifests on a CT scan. But I have no doubt that the drama established clearly that he uses drugs and that his brain is damage. The conclusion that drugs are parr of the equation is based on the fact that anti-psychotics are known to have damaging side effects on the brain.

            • Beez says:

              @ DramaFan – also, just because you have one plausible, possible theory about the drugs, doesn’t necessarily mean everyone will accept it as “that has to be it”. Just sayin’

              • Drama Fan says:

                @Beez Sure we can also choose to believe anything :p but you mentioned the issue has not been discussed? Some of us have seen that the drama has clearly stated that his brain is now damaged, therefore whatever abnormal behavior he presents is likely a symptom of that present damage. Here is a list of things that cause brain cell damage, which mentions anti-psychotics http://mentalhealthdaily.com/2014/03/01/list-of-things-that-kill-brain-cells-the-death-of-neurons/

                • Beez says:

                  @DF – I *sheepishly* admit to not following the link you just posted to read the medical facts. My subs never said what the drugs were that he was taking, but I’ll trust that you got it right. My question was – would the type of drugs he was taking cause that type of loss of impulse control?

                  And why areare you losing patience with me if I don’t necessarily accept your theory flat out? Not that I don’t think it couldn’t be correct, I’m just the type of person who likes the drama itself to tell me and they didn’t lay it out in hard facts.

                • Drama Fan says:

                  @Beez First, Im not losing patience. Im not writing with a lot of details cause Im writing at work. They mentioned one of the drugs he took, and actually was writen on the screen, not as a sub but as part of the original drama. The name was Quietapine (might be spelling it wrong. Will correct later if necessary. Sorry :p Thats what I get for writing on the rush.

                • Drama Fan says:

                  @Beez Oh and I think one misunderstanding is that you think Im saying , the drug caused the low impulse control. What Im actually saying is: Persistent use of drugs, especially on a healthy brain caused a damage over time along with psychological trauma. Low impulse control can be a symptom of the damage, not a direct reaction to the drug (which is yes, initially intended to suppress his outbursts) I hope I’m making more sense now.

                • Beez says:

                  Got it. And while it makes sense and MIGHT well be the situation. I’m still hoping for some writer/director/actor interviews that clarify what they would’ve shown and to tie it down more for me.

                • Drama Fan says:

                  @JaneTilly Yes, I have a korean friend. She is co-blogger of Stuck on Hyuk. You guys let me know if you have any question you would like to ask her 🙂

                • Drama Fan says:

                  @Beez Ok, since we seem to get stuck on the drugs issue (which was not emphasized in the drama, but was present) Ler me try again going back to your original question, What caused low impulse control if he is not a psychopath? How about the notion that low impulse control is not exclusive to psychopaths? Can’t he have that problem without being a psychopath? My answer is Yes. Especially since he does frontal lobe damage (the cause, debatable) but the damage is rhere, as stated in the drama and shown in his latest CT scans. I mean, I think we can at least agree on the fact that the drama did explicitely tell us that his frontal lobe is now damaged, therefore any aggressive behaviour can easily be a symptom of that damage. And frontal lobe issues from what Ive read can cause a number a behavioural issues. Its not as simple as “frontal lobe damaged = your textbook psychopath”. Anyway, that’s all I got on the subject :p

                • Beez says:

                  @DramaFan – quoting DF -“I think we can at least agree on the fact that the drama did explicitely tell us that his frontal lobe is now damaged”

                  I did not see it explicitly say his frontal lobe is now damaged. (Lack of accurate subs or just not there?) I saw vagueness in cutting away from Min Jae’s answer to Director Daddy Lee that left a mystery in my mind that was never clearly answered.

                  As to the lack of impulse control, I agree that any number of different medical/psychological issues can be the cause. So my question still goes unanswered – by the show – if he’s normal, and if the show does not tell me the drugs for sure affected his impulse control, then what were the writers going for that we didn’t get to see.

                  My issue has never been that I think that you are wrong, DF; but rather that there are SO MANY different medical/ emotional things it COULD be and I just wish the drama had decided to sacrifice something else time-wise in order to give me what the show’s writers had intended on saying it actually turned out to be, whether the drugs he was taking, the brainwashing abuse, possible physical abuse was alluded to as well.

                  I can appreciate everyone’s theories and go “hmmmm, yep, maybe that was it.” But because of the very vast nature of medical diagnoses, I’m never going to accept as fact anything anyone of us comes up with (even if they’re in the medical field) until the show says something official. That doesn’t mean I don’t enjoy hearing what everybody thinks. Just don’t try to convince me it HAS to be THIS (meaning any one theory).

                • Drama Fan says:

                  @Beez I see. To me the show has explicitely started he is “no longer normal”. This abnormality showed on CT scans and LYO also said that “regardless of the cause, he is not normal”. All of this makes it obvious to me that this is what the show was trying to say. If they had been more explicit it would’ve felt like a hammer in the head, imo. And this is definitely where we’ll probably never agree. To me the drama says he is NOT normal anymore. He was normal as a child but not anymore. You believe the drama indicated he is normal. I can’t really make sense of this story if he is “normal” so I can’t help you with your doubts. Regards.

                • Beez says:

                  Nope. I agree he’s not “normal” but they seemed to say the abnormality was more from the child abuse. I just wanted clarity on the MRI scans that Min Jae ran and whether she pulled something or if they showed they’re is actually damage now. That does not mean that I don’t understand what you’re saying (the drugs) could be the reason YO’s scan is not normal now. In my opinion, and in many others here, the situation with Mi Jae and the new MRI scan was never made clear.

                • Drama Fan says:

                  @Beez I wasn’t theorizing anymore btw just reminding you of what the drama actually did show and say. They repeated that it was brainwashing and trauma that caused the damage no? I totally understand if you find that “not believable” but the drama DID say it :p in the voices of the wheelchair guy, KMJ, LYO and Dad Lee admission. While the drama was purposely vague about many things I believe this was a point they made clear, that he was “made a monster” by his father, and that it was not through the surgery.

                • Beez says:

                  yup. I’ve never disputed the emotional damage inflicted by his dad. Seems like we’re not really arguing about the same things.

                  The scans! It’s the scans! lol

                • Drama Fan says:

                  @Beez but anyway I give up :p I just wanted to get the point accross that I think the drama did explain at least this aspect clearly. You didn’t think so? You didn’t see it? That’s fine. Let’s agree to disagree on this one.

                • Beez says:

                  Yup.

      • Jane Tilly says:

        Hi @DF — I would like to know if YO continually said that he was NOT able to change. Did he mean it was not going to happen (which is what the caption connoted to me), did YO mean it was going to take time to change, or something else?

      • Jane Tilly says:

        I’m with @Beez on Min Jae not being trustworthy and manipulating (switching?) the MRI scans. She was a dog in the manger until she saw YO was capable of feeling love, then she wanted him back. I can’t get past her throwing him under the bus the way she did, looking on him with disdain and smugness and then wants to start over? YO does not need that business, especially when he has his Wi-Fi ❤

  4. prettysup says:

    About the question : Was the front lobe injured or not? I would think yes it was. However it was not injured during papa’s surgery, rather it was injured later on from the years of psychological abuse which his father subjected him to. The frontal lobe somehow got damaged / shrank from the years of dis-use. Makes sense? Heehee… That’s why they showed up in the recent scans and that’s also why YO told JS he cannot change immediately.

    • Beez says:

      @prettysup “…that’s also why YO told JS he cannot change immediately.”

      Therein lies my issue, prettysup – despite our setting the changes in YO, he kept saying “I won’t be able to…” And “I cannot…”.

      I’m okay with YO believing that about himself, but why not have Jin Sung or his dad…or SOMEBODY tell him: “I see the changes happening in you”?

      • Beez says:

        typo: not “setting”, but “seeing” the changes *eurrrug*

      • Jane Tilly says:

        Yyyup I wanted someone to inform YO that he had changed–it was very clear he evolved over the series! Of course I wanted YO to acknowledge it too.

        • Drama Fan says:

          Awww I think JS will be the person to reinforce that for him. She told him “You are the most hopeful person I know. Every day you show me a different side of you” and she was the one who pointed out to him that he showed concern for the abused kid. He was surprised he was showing concern! I think JS will continue pointing out his humanity and he’ll begin to believe it eventually. The others are too rational to see the changes. And CT scans won’t show them.

          • kjtamuser says:

            Yes, JS will be YO’s wifi / supporter and guide him into realizing his humanity has expanded.

            • Drama Fan says:

              @kjtamuser Yes, another thought came to my mind. You know how LYO has heard all his life “You are a monster” etc It’s been so drilled into his mind that it will take a lot of time and effort to get “deprogrammed”. He will need JS to help with that. Good thing is our Wifi is a very persistent girl 🙂

    • hyukfan says:

      I can accept this theory. But I’ve another question : does Young Oh thought his brain condition is the result of his dad’s malpractice, or does he know he was fine all along, but his brain condition was brought about from the years of psychological abuse?

      • Beez says:

        @hyuckfan – I believe YO knows about both – His anger during the scene where he’s pulling the “face reading” pics off the wall are indicative that he knew he never should’ve received the face reading training at all. So he knows dad made him a “monster”.

        And I’m also assuming, YO would have no reason to be angry with his dad about botching his surgery because, as a surgeon, he knows they “do their best”. So his anger would be about dad, who is so self-righteously upright, adopting him for hypocritical reasons instead of accepting responsibility for his mistake. This would be a big let down to YO who hero-worshiped the doctor he thought his dad was and whom he wanted to emulate. (And it also probably doesn’t sit well Auth YO to know his adoption had no feelings like compassion attached to it for YO but was rather a CYA move.)

        Although, I guess it should come as no surprise to the rest of us that a man who taught his son to live his entire existence hiding who he is, would pick hiding a large fact like his own malpractice from the world. What makes it complicated is, I do believe PART of dad thought hiding YO’s defect would help YO live a better life.

    • Jane Tilly says:

      Our JS has endeavored, and I’m sure would continue to make efforts, towards dispelling YO’s belief he cannot change. YO simply could not accept that he had changed during this series as the subs I watched said ‘I cannot change…I will never change… etc.’. Deprogramming the “monster” brainwashing will likely take a long time and as @DF said “Good thing is our Wifi is a very persistent girl” ❤

  5. A.D.DO! says:

    I tend to agree with Prettysup’s assumption about the frontal lobe damage being shrunk by years of dis-use. And also with Beez, “why doesn’t someone clue him in on the changes they’ve seen?”
    And Hyukfan poses the $64 million dollar question, “what does Young Oh think,…malpractice or abuse??
    The writer(s) must be ROTFL like crazy seeing us scurrying around like rats in a maze trying to puzzle this all out! Is this what they wanted, a lot of talk and discussion about their drama to keep it in the spotlight? Or did they just throw in the towel and say, “you guys figure it out!”? Couldn’t they just have wrapped it up nice and tidy and put us out of our misery?
    Hmmm, …but then, what would we have to dis about?

    • Jane Tilly says:

      Excellent question – Did the writers try to provoke a discussion, seek publicity, or just throw in the towel?

      • Drama Fan says:

        @JaneTilly I honestly think they explained as much as they could given the cut, but trying not to turn the last episodes into pure exposition. They did try to let the audience draw their own conclusions about certain things, which I personally don’t mind.

      • Jane Tilly says:

        I agree the episode cut played into the vagueness. However, vagueness seems to be a trait I have found in many dramas and in the subs–the sub issue may literally be an excellent example “lost in translation”–I simply don’t have enough knowledge of the Korean language. Does anyone have a Korean friend who watched this series that could give us a better idea?

    • Beez says:

      @A.D.DO! “Hmmm, …but then, what would we have to dis about?”

      Oh, I’d find something… lololol

    • Drama Fan says:

      Mis use and drugs.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Posts
August 2016
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  
Copyright
© kjtamusings.wordpress.com, 2014-2017, All Rights Reserved. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without expressed and written permission from this site’s author is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to kjtamusings.wordpress.com with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
